Essence of This Afternoon | 5 Minute Freewrite, Day 111

in #freewrite7 years ago

renoir-picking-flowers-630px.jpg
Renoir, Picking Flowers

Barely can I put words
to the essence​ of
this afternoon

She strolled through her
mother's garden, wistfully
stopping often

To smell the flowers,
brush the grass with
her palm

I came to her quietly
humbly in the
hot sun

"Ma'am, may I join you?"
Bashful, hopeful, hopeless
"Yes, Tom"

We walked in silence,
her short stride slowing us
to a hum

Bees buzzed, sweat dripped
Flowers sang a
gentle hymn​

Bold as ever, though not
by confidence if
only on a whim

"Would you tell me
the story of this flower,
if I sit."

Nod, smile, and she
plucks a bud, for us
And begins.


While I did not include the word dream in today's freewrite, the theme inspired my choice in an impressionist painting to be the visual illustration of my poetic story. Impressionism's thick, noticeable​ brush strokes, muddled colors and muted tones evoke a dreamy perspective of subject-matter.

FREEWRITE-banner.jpg






Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png



Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. My blog has lived at www.amelia-bartlett.com until I discovered Steemit, where I now post most of my work. To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and follow me for articles on slow living, sustainable fashion, self-expression, and quality curated resteems!

Proud member of

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

teamgirlpowa.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

ladies-of-steemit-banner-rounded.png

Sort:  

This was a wonderful story and such a happy feeling 😊 love the picture and flowers are just the best and to be surrounded by them and enjoy the smell is like a dream 😉
Well written my friend!

This is a heartwarming poem. I love the idea that it was inspired by Renoir's impressionist painting. Hope to see more of your works in my feed! Cheers :)

Very creative! Love Impressionism.

This is a lovely little story. It lets on just enough to imagine the feelings of the characters, but not too much to spoil the fun of imagining.
It also makes me realize how much I long for some warm spring strolls.
Here in Michigan, we just learned that we may be getting another 10" of snow starting tomorrow.

Oh well, seasons change eventually.
Thanks for sharing.

Oh no, that's a lot of snow! Thinking about picking flowers gave my brain a reprieve from winter. ☃️

One thing I enjoy is picking flowers with my princesses. Not so much to pick the flowers, but to see the smiles that form when they find one they like.

💓 Please excuse me while I go dry my face.

Oh! This tugged at my heart. This bit especially:

"Would you tell me
the story of this flower,
if I sit."

Beautiful.

Very well done, beautiful words, plus Renoir paintwork, great post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60860.94
ETH 2672.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62