5-minute Freewrite: Prompt- Sugar Bowl

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

m-ms-2617064_1280.jpg
Image source from Pixajay

Grandma once bought a beautiful multicolored bowl. She'd like to call it her sugar bowl. Every school holiday dad and momma would leave us at grandma's house and go for a short spouse getaway for a week. I loved staying at grandma's, those were my most memorable childhood days.

Grandma's sugar bowl always intrigued me. Everytime I stayed at her place the bowl would be in a different shade of color. Grandma assured me that it's the same bowl she's been using.

Grandma would put in different types of sweets and chocolates, sometimes even miniature toys and what she'd call her 'blessing cookies', pretty much the same idea of a fortune cookie as she would put in a simple note inside with words of comfort and encouragement. I remember some days when I was struggling as a young teen, I'd often find myself digging into those blessing cookies and the words written on the note felt like hugs to my soul. I still have them with me after all these years.

It's been many years since grandma's passing, and just months before that she did something special. It was Christmas Eve and we made it in time as a family to celebrate with grandma that year. It was 2005. The blizzard was bad. We got to grandma's home only to be welcomed with a warm fireplace and beautiful dining setting with lots of food. Grandma was a great cook.

As usual, after dinner I'd go to the sugar bowl and grab a candy or two, you know, to sweeten the palate after a heavy meal. There was my favorite blessing cookie, only one. It was unusually bigger in size, topped with lots of chocolate chip and raisins, just the way I like it. I took a bite and my front teeth hit something hard. There was a note and a plastic wrap.

"Dear Joel, Merry Christmas my boy. Here's my present for you. Remember that I'll always be with you near or far, and you'll always find a home in grandma's heart. I love you, my sunshine boy. Hugs, Grandma."

I opened the plastic wrap to find a key. I recognised that key. It was the key to the front door. I excused myself and went to the washroom and sobbed quietly. I knew what it meant. She was giving me the house.

Years passed. I'd come home whenever I need a breather, and everytime I do I make sure I remember to fill the sugar bowl with sweets and chocolates. It's my way of keeping grandma's memories fresh and alive. A way to keep her close to my heart.

Note: Added extra 5 minutes for the freewrite.

divider-1024.png
20180212_193505.png

SMbannersmall.png

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

banner_steemsugars.jpg

Sort:  

Very nicely done! You had me thinking this was a story from your youth until the name changed. Impressive. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @magicalmoonlight. Congratulations and best wishes.

Thanks for dropping by, @magicalmoonlight was so kind to have me featured in her post. I'm glad you enjoyed the story :) see you around!

Such a sweet filled with memorable moments kind of story. At first I thought it was your real life story until I read "Joel". Blessed is Joel. ;)

Thanks @iamjadeline, I loved your sugar bowl love story too! 😍 Yea, quite jelly of Joel.. He has such beautiful memories with his grandma. 😊

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

This was such an awesome story. I too thought that this was your story. Great job!

Aww thanks @magicalmoonlight, glad you enjoyed the story. I personally love this story too, unfortunately I've never truly known my maternal and paternal grandmothers, they were gone too soon.

Aww. Well you are such a talented writer. I was hooked on the story from the beginning.

Thank you, that's so kind of you. You make me blush 😳😘

Such a sweet, touching story! I, too, didn't have much of a relationship with my grandparents. My paternal grandfather died before I was born and his wife, my Avo, wasn't very open or affectionate. My other set of grands lived overseas so I only saw them twice. I'm a bit jelly of Joel Too!

Great writing!

Thanks, @crowbarmama! When I was young I told myself one day when I have my own little family, I want to make sure that my children have a good relationship with their grandparents from both side of the family. I'm glad my husband and I feel the same way in this. I'm all the more glad my parents and his parents are still around to enjoy their grandchildren.

Thanks for dropping by, see you around ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57343.93
ETH 3104.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12