My Pit of Despair: a Poem About WritingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

On Twitter, I recently wrote about an unfortunate pattern I tend to fall into whilst editing a novel manuscript:

To be fair, the fact that I was drinking Prosecco at the time of writing this tweet didn't help. 😂🙈 And it is also possible that I shouldn't have been distracting myself with Twitter whilst editing.

Neatly sweeping those concerns to one side ... I find myself in #2 mode once again today, so this silly little poem below (a response to @mariannewest's freewriting prompt, roadblocks) is an attempt to exorcise some of my frustration.

My Pit of Despair: A Lament

Full steam ahead is easy to say
When every word flows with ease:
When the muse has blessed you
And the light of wisdom
Blazes forth through the trees.

When roadblocks persist
When you're wading through sludge
And you know you can't take any more
That's when your heart breaks
And you cling to your wine and you wail:
Why didn't I do law?

Be a writer, they said
It's fun, they said:
You get to deal with words all day!
They never mentioned
The despair that sets in
When the words just don't want to play.

🙃🙃🙃

https://tenor.com/view/crying-wine-ferrell-gif-8196732

Sort:  

Oh, I'm pretty active on Twitter and I didn't know you could share Tweets via Steem! Thanks, @kabir88.

pocketsend:11@aislingcronin, play around with the token of fun - POCKET!

Successful Send of 11
Sending Account: pode
Receiving Account: aislingcronin
New sending account balance: 99419
New receiving account balance: 10
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 87be87068dbf31e80db5c2c75387a743e6d5fed2
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Wow. Really love this poem!!!! :) once again, great job.


I am here to deliver the next prompt to you. Here it is, check it out! It is 'a creature of absolute convictions'.

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

LOL! I enjoyed your poem immensely.

"A blank piece of paper is God’s way of telling us how hard it is to be God."
– Sidney Sheldon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67