A Little Rant Inspired by the Freewrite Prompt 'Warm Water Bottle'

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Today, I'm responding to @mariannewest's latest freewrite prompt, warm water bottle. The prompt is all too real for me right now, as my period arrived several days early today, my uterus has embarked on its monthly plot to kill me, and only my trusty hot water bottle stands between me and unadulterated agony. 😱

I suspect that most men/people without uteruses will have looked away in horror or embarrassment at this stage, as I begin to discuss that dreaded time of the month. 😉

Period pain is no laughing matter – I'm in no mood to talk to anyone right now. I'm huddled up in a cosy chair with my nicest pyjamas on, a blanket pulled close around my shoulders, and my beloved hot water bottle clutched against my abdomen. There are a few squares of dark chocolate and a lovely, steaming mug of coffee on my bedside table nearby.

It's not the worst place to be, in truth – it's an introvert's dream scenario 😍 – but I can't help feeling sorry for myself anyway, as twinges of pain pulsate through my lower back at regular intervals. My cramps are always bad on the first and second days of my period, with the first night being particularly horrendous. By the time day three rolls around, the worst is over. On Friday, I will mostly be fine ... but in the meantime, I plan to sit around and feel sorry for myself, knowing that a world of pain awaits me in a couple of hours, just as I'm trying to get to sleep. Hopefully my water bottle can spare me the worst of it! 😉

Sort:  

Hope your hot water bottle does the trick and you don't suffer too horrendously.

Thank you! I hope it does work. 😜

I hope it passes soon!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

💕

Postal tip: Postage rates going up, send your cards and letters today 💌
Webp.net-compress-image (2).jpg
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-440-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-new-laws

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33