#Freewrite - Junkyard of Immortal (short story)

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

The reminiscence of an outdated robot who was once a human.

PIC.JPG

This is my entry for Day's 36 of #freewrite... I didn't follow the rules exactly this time as this took a bit more than 6 minutes (the rules say five minutes)... But I liked this story so much that I have an urge to make a series about it (with a backstory and all).

The prompt: Junk

The title is something I came up too fast, I don't think if it suits the story but lets see...

Junkyard of Immortal

Endless junks were in front of me. and I was one of them...

It's been hundreds of years since I implanted my thoughts and memories into the robot I'm inside right now... I was proud at the time, I realized my dream of immortality.

But those ages are behind now... My circuits became outdated and this old metallic body of mine decayed... One day the people "above" decided to dispose of me...

I can't even shut myself down, and the idiots who disposed of me forgot to do that.

And here I was, in this junkyard... waiting for my CPU do die like the rest of my robotic body.

What would the human me feel about this, afraid? The Dream of immortality wasn't worth it after all...

[The End]


image is from pixabay.
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ahmadmanga from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice, Ahmad! I'm so happy to see you continuing your fiction writing :)

I actually want to write a full story (800-2000 words) from this entry... But I'm procrastinating for a while now... haha...

I certainly know that feeling!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50