#Freewrite: Everyone Is The First Pretender (Short Story)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Have you noticed that basically every website claims that it's the FIRST of its kind? Weird right?

SmartPhoneEating

Started trying a new way to write these freewrites after finding the website WithDraft so I can save and compare drafts, and discovered the joy of writing in Hemingway Mode:

"Write while not being able to EDIT or change anything. Not even backspace."

Which works exactly like @mariannewest #freewrite initiative. This and having an idea instanlt after seeing theprompt "First African in Space" I completed a work in less than 5 minutes. The result isn't that good so I did HEAVY edits before publishing, only the idea is the same.

Everyone Is The First Pretender

(The Edited Version)

"That's what I hate about this generation," He sighed looking at his smartphone. "Everyone wants to be the first one to bring anything to their country."

"What do you mean?" I glanced away from my sandwich to his screen. "Oh, the first comic book by a Libyan?"

"See? Isn't it strange?" He switched his device off. "They didn't do their research, just because you haven't heard about other comic books in our country doesn't mean YOU MADE THE FIRST ONE."

I brought my hand to my chin and pondered. "It seems everyone thinks that America and other first world countries are making everything and our countries are always behind.

"Next time I'll open this website I'll find a headline FIRST. AFRICAN. IN SPACE." With a phone on his hand, he punched the air with each word exaggerating the ridiculous of that statement.

"Huh? You mean," I instinctively tightened my grip on the sandwich. "No one in the whole continent reached there already?"

"Do you think I would know?" He reminded me that he has no interest in astrology. "I'm just saying that's what everyone does. Lets finish out launch and get back to work."

He put away his phone and unpacked his sandwich, I was left to wait for him as I already finished mine.

The End?


Original version, Warning: It Might hurt Your Eyes

This took around 4:20 minutes

What I hate most about this generation si that weveryone wants to wbe the first one to nmake soemthig in thier country just look
what do you mean? oh, the first libyan comic book?

see? isn't that strange? just because thy haven't hear of tother comic books in their country doesn't mean THAT YOU MADE THE FIRST ONE..

hmmm... it seems everyone thinks that fUSA and other first wqorld countries are making everything and out countries are alaways behind.

Next time I'l wopen this website I'll find things like FIRST AFRICAIN IN SPACE

wait? do you mean that they are there?! aone lalready?

I don't ---do you think I would nknow? I'm jus tsatying that what everyone does. [](et
lets finish out work and get back to lanch.



I love writing stories that are just conversation between two characters, I like writing stories with unnamed characters and I enjoy writing stories that softly touch science. So clearly I have enjoyed writing this.

What do you think?

Put your thoughts as comments, I always welcome them.


Cover image is taken from unsplash.
Sort:  

Ooh, I love this!
All week, coincidentally, I've been thinking about those who claim to be the FIRST this, the first that. And you express the same idea - quite well! This in particular: "They didn't do their research, just because you haven't heard about other comic books in our country doesn't mean YOU MADE THE FIRST ONE." Glad you enjoyed writing this. I enjoyed reading it!

I was thinking about this problem for a while myself... that's why the story was easy to write. It's makes you angry when you love (less known) local product then you read in the news/blog that someone else from your country made the FIRST type in your country of it.

Excellent point! Too many websites (and bloggers) are in such a hurry to be "first" that they don't bother with being accurate! It's very frustrating...

Today's prompt comes to you as an advertisement in the Freewrite Gazette. It's right above the Lost & Found on page 2. (Side note, if anyone has found a left prosthetic leg - last seen Tuesday night at Mugsy's Pub - please return it to Eugene at the Rec Center.)

Freewrite Prompt Day 141 - Grocery List

That was funny and I learned a new word (Gazette = newspaper according to wikipedia) Thanks for the heads up.

Today's prompt comes to you as an advertisement in the Freewrite Gazette. It's right above the Lost & Found on page 2. (Side note, if anyone has found a left prosthetic leg - last seen Tuesday night at Mugsy's Pub - please return it to Eugene at the Rec Center.)

I agree on this! Rabba Dabba declared that they were the first social experiment to reward people 4 creating their own contract and they said that they were going to replace Facebook. Since then there have been numerous sites with the same claim! Rabadaba went down the tubes because of failure to pay out to members their promise. Nice freewrite!

It's sad that there are all those failed attempts, but when you make something truly new there's always a risk that it comes out bad, (if it succeeded then it'll be a big hit so the risk worth it sometimes.)

I do agree! Each time I've learned valuable things, too!

Great shortstory, I would like to read it if you continue with it.

Apart, the general idea of writting it without editing, itself, isn't bad at all...

Thanks for reading, I don't have a plan to continue this, if you liked the idea and want to continue it yourself you can take it, I don't mind.

Apart, the general idea of writing it without editing, itself, isn't bad at all...

The only problem with that is you can't show it to your readers right away, even if it's way better than mine, writing without edits means having at least one round of heavy edits after that.

Maybe you're right, Didn't think it so much. I have always mistakes with things like the "—" or capital letters, etc, but not with grammatical things. At least in spanish, of course. In english is way more different

Maybe in the future I would try it, but not now

I could say the same with Arabic instead of spanish:

but not with grammatical things. At least in spanish, of course. In english is way more different

English is my second language, but I learned it quite young that's why I don't usually make grammar mistakes.

I agree on this. You really need to clean up the first draft. It's a great motivator, though.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ahmadmanga from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74