MINI VAN (5-minute Freewrite)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

MINI VAN (5-minute Freewrite)

a 5-minute Freewrite by A.E. Jackson

MINI VAN - a 5-minute Freewrite by A.E. Jackson
Image source

The night before I left for college, the world was falling apart around my ears. This is not an exaggeration.

We worked most of the hot summer day packing my room. Belongings were packed into plastic tubs and one large steamer trunk. My brother and sister, step-father and mother, grand-father, and I carried things to the old, tan, Ford Aerostar mini-van parked in the driveway.

We had removed the center bench seat to make room for things. One by one the possessions moved from the pile in the living room to their position in the vehicle. Soon it was full. We left just enough room for the family to sit. We planned to pile into the van and drive three hours to the college in the morning.

Job well done. I nodded to my step-dad and moved to pull the side door shut. The sliding door ran on hinges, and a quick tug would release it from a resting position.

But not that day. Instead, the door froze in place. It was jammed open somehow and we had to pull off a last minute mechanical miracle in order to get it to close.

Zooming down the highway I was certain that door would spring open and all my things would be scattered along I-70!

T H E E N D

Here's a bonus treat... I couldn't resist!

© 2019, A.E. Jackson. All rights reserved.

A.E. JacksonLoyal Reader Rewards
Powerhouse CreativesFreewrite Prompts
eSteemSurferPartiko App
Steem Basic IncomeSteemAuto
Magic DiceDrug Wars
Sort:  

Oh, geez! I'm glad you got it closed. I thought for a moment you were going to say you had to unload it all again!

I find it really cool that you guys are able to write things in 5 minutes. That commercial made me laugh! Thanks for sharing this with us and have a great day!

Thank you for reading @sgbonus - If you keep reading, I’ll keep writing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You’re welcome! Sure!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Did the door shut?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes - we finally got it closed but had to keep it closed. So for the entire trip all passengers had to enter and exit using the Front Passenger door

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow that is a hard work.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think that can be filed under all’s well that ends well!
It’s the Wednesday prompt delivery technicians here with the word of the day: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-502-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-let-s-eat

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

I couldn't imagine all your stuff on the road. 😿 Good thing all was not lost.

Posted using Partiko Android

You could have changed seats with your things so they were safe

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86