DETOX (5-minute Freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago

DETOX (5-minute Freewrite)

a 5-minute Freewrite by A.E. Jackson

DETOX - a 5-minute Freewrite by A.E. Jackson
Image source

The Fray plays on a beaten CD player on a used dresser in the corner of my little room. The spartan living quarters are, they tell me, a huge blessing. But I don't see it that way. It is a jail.

When the morning alarm rings, the inmates - sorry, guests - line up outside their cells - sorry, personal space - and are marched off to breakfast.

Runny eggs, burnt-to-crunchy bacon, and 2% light chocolate milk is chased by a cocktail of drugs. (Wait, aren't I supposed to be getting clean in here?) Sorry, all this language is still so new to me. We receive our daily vitamins and emotional stability supplements. Right.

Then they march small groups of us to either counseling, crafts, life studies classes, or the gym. Today - sadly - I am headed to Dr. Clarabelle. No. I know that isn't her name. But she looks like a cow. And that voice! C'mon - you know what I am saying...

Sorry. Yes, I get to talk with the good doctor about when my detox will finally end.

T H E E N D

© 2018, A.E. Jackson. All rights reserved.


Freewrite brought to you by @mariannewest and @freewritehouse

If you would like to find out what freewriting is all about, read the original post here.

If you are enjoying my work -

Upvote my posts through Steemauto and add the other people and groups you would like to support. Should you find this post after the 7 day period and wish to throw me an upvote, please consider upvoting a newer post of mine. Thanks!

Discover the joy of browsing Steemit faster and easier -

eSteem Surfer and eSteem Mobile makes browsing Steemit a complete joy on desktop and mobile. Everything works faster and easier with the applications. My personal favorite features - save Drafts, and Schedule posts - mind blown... Enjoy eSteem for iPhone, iPad and Android, as well as PC, Mac or Linux devices today!

New to Steemit? Do you need Steem to get started?

To participate in Steem Basic Income, add a Top Level Comment below about your interest. I would be honored to Sponsor you.Thanks!

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content. Complete details...

Sort:  

Hey, @aejackson.

Very good. I've been amazed at how much can be done in five minutes, which I guess is the whole point of this freewrite exercise.

For a moment, it sounded like jail, but that was just drawing a parallel. I felt the confusion, or disorientation, but singular clarity on the purpose for being there. That in and of itself sounds like the outside world more times than I care to think of. Clear objectives, fuzzy implementation.

Did I just swerve into the hard fork? No. Keeping it on track here. :)

Well written. I very much enjoyed it. Definitely something that could be developed further, I think.

Hey @aejackson, enjoyed your story! Especially the humorous slant to it. 😊
Continue freewriting! (: and if you wanna, can check out my detox post as well & share your thoughts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62959.39
ETH 2453.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62