BE GONE (5-minute Freewrite)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite6 years ago

BE GONE (5-minute Freewrite)

a 5-minute Freewrite by A.E. Jackson

BE GONE - a 5-minute Freewrite by A.E. Jackson
Image source

She fled up the shingled roof. Up, and up, and over the pinnacle. The ice coated steel lightning rod sent a chill up her left arm. Her legs spun into the air as she grasped the electric guiding shaft, and twisted around it to land on the next rooftop.

Behind her, snarling jaws followed in close pursuit. Her heart raced in her chest like caged birds alert to a feline intruder. 'If I can just reach the window to the parlour, I will be safe,' she thought.

But the tall stained glass double doors rested as one. The barrier was beautiful and sickening at once.

She turned on her heels, and held up the thin wand at arms length. Her voice boomed over the snow rimmed roof, and out across the vast estate grounds all around.

"Be gone!"

T H E E N D

© 2018, A.E. Jackson. All rights reserved.

Loyal Reader Rewards - Earn 1 Steem Basic Income Share Each Week!

A.E. Jackson writes short stories, interactive fiction, and informative articles published on Steemit.com. Loyal Readers can earn 1 Steemit Basic Income Share each week by reading posts. Read Posts and click the linked word or phrase. Complete the Entry Form with Your Steemit Username. Upvote, Comment, or Resteem the post to complete your entry. Drawing held once per week from all entries received. Winner MUST have an Upvote, Comment, or Resteem of at least ONE post within that week's contest period.

Freewrite brought to you by @mariannewest and @freewritehouse

If you would like to find out what freewriting is all about, read the original post here.

If you are enjoying my work -

Upvote my posts through Steemauto and add the other people and groups you would like to support. Should you find this post after the 7 day period and wish to throw me an upvote, please consider upvoting a newer post of mine. Thanks!

Discover the joy of browsing Steemit faster and easier -

eSteem Surfer and eSteem Mobile makes browsing Steemit a complete joy on desktop and mobile. Everything works faster and easier with the applications. My personal favorite features - save Drafts, and Schedule posts - mind blown... Enjoy eSteem for iPhone, iPad and Android, as well as PC, Mac or Linux devices today!

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content. Complete details...

Sort:  

Nice action for a short story like that. So far the stories you have make me want to read more. What was chasing her? Why? Did the spell work? Thanks for the freewrite! Good job!

Thanks a ton for that comment @thraellock - that’s what keeps me writing! I’ve got some longer ideas in mind... I’ll have to get to work typing them up

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good deal! I'll be happy to read what you have to write. I posted a longer short story I threw together. If you have a minute...or 5, I'd appreciate some quick critique from you. I would be honored if you, as a professional, would let me know if its even worth the paper I would have printed it with. haha! Take care @aejackson.
https://steemit.com/stories/@thraellock/shortness-of-breath-fantasy-modern-day-short-story-part-1

I wish I could write like this, most of my #freewrites are real life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.28
ETH 3441.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62