Grief - A five minute freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

no-money-2070384_1280.jpg

I guess the majority of people will write about the grief of losing a loved one, and indeed that is what first comes to mind for me too. But I'm going to write instead about another meaning for the word grief.

The grief of loss is still too raw for me even after four years and I'm not ready to open up about it, especially in a public place like Steemit. Maybe some day, I'll write a post about it, but not today..

So my other interpretation is getting grief from someone, in other words aggressive behaviour directed towards you...

So the year was 1994 and myself and my 13 year old mates were going to a youth disco.. I was decked out in combats, Nirvana long sleeved t shirt and Desert boots, sporting my newly shaved undercut... It was late evening and we stopped at a chipper for a quick bite before the disco. On my way back outside I noticed my friends getting some grief from some older boys.. I stepped outside to see what was going on...

"You, give me your money, stand for search!"

Came the authoritive voice of the eldest member of the gang.

"I spent it all on my food, sorry"

I protested..

Then came the genius line, that I'll always remember.

"Jump up and down!"

Puzzled, I did as he asked, so he didn't punch in the face.. Then I heard the jangle of coins in my pockets and it dawned on me why he'd asked me to jump up and down..

"Empty those pockets ya lying little prick!"

I did as instructed and I think your man got about 60P off me... He didn't know about the fiver in my sock luckily, so the night wasn't completely ruined.

They did hop my friends head off the window for good measure, and wouldn't you know he was the smallest of my mates.. Bullies know how to pick their targets..

We dusted ourselves off, walked up to the disco, and still had a mighty night. It wouldn't be the last grief on the way to this youth disco..


This is my entry into @mariannewest's freewrite where the prompt was Grief

The prompt post can be found here and there's a new one everyday.

The picture is not mine and was taken from here

Peace Out,

@ablaze

Sort:  

Well done you countering the jump up and down trick with the fiver in the sock trick!
It’s the midweek prompt delivery service here with the challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-300-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-towel

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Thanks a mil.. ill try to get to this later on..

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ablaze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50