I am a Freemason. How it happened.

in #freemasons8 years ago

I was always fascinated by secret societies. I read about them and always wanted to be behind the scenes. I seemed to gravitate to jobs that required covert work as well. I once worked as a retail store detective where we went undercover in stores, acting like a shopper but looking for shoplifters and then apprehending them. It was a fun job but even more so a dangerous one.

That led to being promoted into internal investigations where I investigated employee theft but also organized theft, bad check, and credit card fraud rings. We worked with government agencies as well. The agencies they call the three letter or two letter agencies. I was even recruited by one of them, but at the time it seemed like working for the government but an all encompassing career and I didn't want to commit like that at the time.

Later in my career I did other covert work for the government which I'll go into later. But the point is that for some reason, these are avenues I always ended up in.

One day, while out riding our motorcycles with a friend of mine, we stopped at his older brother's house. It was a huge, expensive custom built home. While waiting for the brother to answer the door, I noticed a metal plaque embedded in the brick wall near the porch. The plaque was about the size of a light switch plate and it had a raised symbol on it.

I asked my friend "Hey, is your brother a Freemason?"

He replied "Yes, why?"

"I always wondered about Freemasons" I answered.

He told me to ask him about it. We went inside and the place was gorgeous! Imported marble floors, statues, two chandeliers.....it was part palace, part museum.

We sat down, had a drink, and talked for a while about where we were riding that day. I was nervous about asking the burning question on my mind. Eventually I said "I saw the plaque out front, Freemasons right?"

The brother replied "Yes, I'm a Freemason."

I didn't know if I should go on, but I chanced it "How long have you been one?"

"Oh a long time, since I was in my 30s?" He said.

"How do you get to being one?" I sheepishly asked. He began to tell me the process of becoming a Mason, as it's often called. One of the oldest secret societies still in existence. There are others, but Freemasons are notorious.

I had to do a follow up meeting with the brother and another member. We talked for a while, some paper work was done, and I was off to my next step.

I was on my way to becoming a Freemason. Little did know what I was about to experience next. I researched as much as I could. Would there be a blood ritual? Would I have to sell my soul to the devil? Will they sacrifice a virgin at my expense?

I waited for the call and then it came. The next step in my journey to becoming a Mason.

I was nervous, scared, excited...all at the same time!

To be continued.....

Sort:  

I kind of skipped through the first meeting I had with my friend's brother and the other guy. Basically you have to get people to support your application. The brother called another Mason he knew.

We met, talked for a while, and he also supported my application. I was nervous for this meeting as well. I thought I was in over my head, not sure what I was getting myself into. But I keep moving forward on it.

One thing I didn't do so well was how I answered the question "Why do you want to be a Freemason?"

I don't want to give that out just yet but the brother corrected me and we talked about it.

Up to this point the brother was super supportive and that helped although I still felt pretty nervous.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 4.3 and reading ease of 86%. This puts the writing level on par with Ernest Hemingway and Donald Trump.

I upvote U

Congratulations @globalguy! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @globalguy! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @globalguy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55