Retreating to my Happy Place.

@freedomtribe are inviting people to tell everyone about their happy place. This is a fundraiser for @littledisciples’ breakfast programme for indigenous Venezuelan children and there are lots of prizes available with support from @theinnerblocks and @naturalmedicine communities.

20190416_110701.jpg

You may have already guessed that my happy place is the garden. It takes me outdoors, into the fresh air, which is surely good to lift anyone's spirit.

When I'm gardening I can move my focus to manual work and take the pressure of my mind which is always trying to plan ahead and remember what else needs doing. Once that pressure is off, then my mind can finally be allowed to mull over things in a less stressful way. Suddenly, those problems that seemed so insurmountable, have solutions. I can put things into perspective again and things aren't as bad as they first seemed.

20190117_185324.jpg

I've been struggling to write, of late, and my writing hasn't felt like it's flowed as it should. Interacting has been harder work than usual. I'll look at comments people have left me and feel there should be a response, but can't think of one. Then I'll get into the garden, my mind will drift and those responses come to me. Sometimes, while my mind drifts I can compose entire articles and blog posts in my head. Things that just won't come to me when I sit down and purposefully decide to write. Admittedly, they don't always make it to getting written down, as I'll have forgotten all about it next time I get chance, but the thoughts often resurface when I'm reading someone else's post; then I have a response ready and wonderful conversations ensue.

When I’m gardening, unless there is something urgent that needs to be done, such as watering in the hot weather or making sure the animals have food and water, I can drift from one thing to another without feeling the need for completion. I don't allow myself to get caught up in the stress of completing everything that needs to be done. There's always too much for me to complete, anyway and it's an ongoing venture.

It's not just my garden that makes me happy; being in nature in any way does, but I'm more of an observer outside of my garden. I don't get to dig, trim, plant and choose what to grow, so I don't get that feeling of having achieved something; that accomplishment which helps to settle my mind and makes me feel less out of control.

~○♤○~


You can also find The Miniature Smallholding on:

Instagram
Facebook
YouTube

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I totally understand and am so glad you have your garden to clear your mind and find peace! <3

We all need to find that calming place. When I was younger going into the mountains and just sitting under a tree was my happy place. Now that I am older I need to find a new calming place.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope you find a place again. Are you no longer near the mountains?

Posted using Partiko Android

No, just moved 3500km. Probably some place out east here. I will have to find someplace out here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahh don’t you love it when you can do all this amazing stuff in your head and it’s gone when you have the chance to sit and write 🤣 obviously you need to spend more time in your happy place and then go straight to the computer from there 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

The problem is, I generally have to come go straight from the garden to cooking dinner or taking Izzy to gym. I guess I just can't tear myself away from that happy place soon enough to get near a computer.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @minismallholding! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 comments. Your next target is to reach 6500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

So many of us have gardens as happy places, with good reason. I read once that gardening helps you believe in a future. Theres something in that for sure.

I guess you do have to believe in a future with gardening. There's always something to look forward to and wait for as things grow or fruit. I love looking at previous photos on my blog and seeing the changes as those seedlings in it fill out into lush plants.

Posted using Partiko Android

A garden is a indeed a very happy place to be at :)

yes i can so relate to this, I need to be outside to have my hands in the soil, connecting with the earth in such an intimate way. It is so healthy. I love how inspired you get from being in your garden. This was such a lovely read thank you @minismallholding xx

Loved it....I have a small one at my terrace and watering them on morning and evening really do help me as well. Getting close to nature is always so good

Posted using Partiko Android

I love gardening and I wish I had a garden here, because I feel when you have your own garden it helps you to feel relax plus as you said helps you to clear your mind and gives you a way of new start... Beautiful post...

Thank you. I think if I didn't have the garden I would turn to nature instead. Walks in the woods or forests are so therapeutic too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73