A sh*t post

One of the most intriguing aspects of steemit for me was that here was a true free speech platform. I could give my friends not just a thumbs up but reward them with crypto for taking the time to share a part of their lives with me. Alas my bubble has been popped.

Over the past few weeks I been witness to other steemians downvoting over what they consider to be "sh*t" posts, and even asking others not to post certain things because they are not considered quality. I value freedom of speech highly so to be honest it quite shocked me. Thought police on steemit.

20190925_125025.jpg

This is a pile of rocks. Nothing spectacular right? If you could dig deeper you find not just a rock but there is obsidian, quartz crystals, jade, and yes even some gold dust. Some are beautiful some not so much. My point? These rocks are like blogs. And one person's rock is another persons gem.

I don't always feel the need to have "quality" posts filling my brain. @rakkasan84 and I love listening to @crypt0 and @dollarvigilante learning about the money markets. I also enjoy sharing the joy of @mattsanthonyit success in purchasing all his new baby things with crypto currency he earned on steemit. I have been following the journey of @nathanpieters as he is reforging his life. @naturalmedicine has taught me black turmeric is only for medicine not in food. I laugh at the silliness @prettynicevideo in her questions of the day. @rakkasan84 has some great recipes. I cried when reading @snook blog about the love of her life. @enginewitty has an amazing family with the sweetest little warrior princess ever! @davedickeyyall cracks me up with his morning bowl and @bethvalverde inspires me with her actifit posts.

I could carry on about all the people who have touched my life through steemit. So I ask myself who is ANYONE to judge on what is a quality and what is a "sht" post. If you dont like the content than you have the right to not read it, don't resteem it let it trickle off to the place that all "sht" post go to die.

Sometimes a rock is just a rock sometimes its a gem to put in your pocket.

Sort:  

If you look deeper at some of these people screaming "sh*t post" you will find they are just as guilty on some level.

Projection at its finest!

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed! My next post will be Tuesday because I spoke too soon this week.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Right on sista! I stay with from the politics. I would only down vote something if it broke real ethical laws. What they don't understand is people like that are investors or have money or have something to stake and and that's why they act like that. The people that do it for social media and to have fun they don't act like that.

Posted using Partiko Android

For some reason I thought you had buried the lede in there...

Thank you for a very good point and putting it across incredibly well. I've never quite understood the stance of "everyone has free speech, but only if I agree with it"

Free speech means offending some but giving others what they want to here. I will NEVER judge anyone on their opinions, I may disagree with some people's, but then that's what makes this platform so great.

Upvote a post if you love it, upvote a post if you think it's well written but never downvote a blog because you disagree with its content.

What an elegant way to put this. I agree 100%. "One mans shit post is another mans treasure. " lol It really does bother me any kind of censorship like this. I do believe in free speech, not free speech of you like what i am saying.

Congratulations @scarletreaper! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments. Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @scarletreaper! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58521.00
ETH 2488.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39