Your Health, Your Choice : #FREEDOMFRIDAY post plus - chance to win 5 SBD WORTH OF STEEM BASIC INCOME! steemCreated with Sketch.

in #freedomfriday6 years ago

image.png

This week's #freedomfriday is brought to you by @eaglespirit, @naturalmedicine and @freedomtribe - and the topic is very close to my own heart and very presence here on Steemit in my role in celebrating and promoting natural medicine on the Steem blockchain. If you'd like to write about 'Freedom of Natural Medicine', you've got until Sunday night. Read the guidelines for the post here.

Make sure you use #freedomfriday, #freedomtribe and #naturalmedicine as your tags so we can find and support you! There's 5 SBD of Steem Basic Income on offer as well - woot!!!

image.png

As usual I try to take an Australian perspetive on these kind of questions, so my concern is with the Australian government reduction of private health insurance rebates for natural therapies or 'complementary' therapies as they are known here. From 1 April 2019, those with private health care (over 50 percent of the population) will no longer be able to claim extras for these kind of therapies, such as aromatherapy, Bowen therapy, Buteyko, Feldenkrais, Herbalism, Homeopathy, Iridology, Kinesiology, Naturopathy, Pilates, Reflexology, Rolfing, Shiatsu, Tai Chi and Yoga. These extras, held by over half of the Australian population, would remove huge costs from the health system, a primary motivator for the decision.

This followed a review which found no clear evidence to support the efficacy of listed natural therapies, undertaken by the National Health and Medical Research Council. Yet NO published scientific papers on Naturopathy and Herbal Medicine were actually considered in this review.

This decision will limit the freedom of choice for those whose lives are dependent on natural therapy modalities when the public health system and conventional medicines doesn't serve them. It means that people who seek out alternative - or complementary - medicines for things like migraines or allergies, stress management or acute care for things like anxiety or IBS - and that's 2 out of every 3 Australians - may not be able to do so, or afford it.

image.png

Personally, I don't have private health insurance, as I don't feel I need it and would rather support the public health system, but we're lucky enough to have a choice in Australia and a pretty good health care system too. We have freedom of choice, depending on our situation. I can afford occasional visits to the naturopath and believe that it evens out for me with the cost of health care, but what I don't like is that by removing these rebates, it's going to reduce the legitimacy of them as well as have other knock on effects such as the availability of complementary therapies and associated costs, as well as setting the precedent for banning natural medicines entirely in support of the drug companies that are probably rubbing their hands in glee.

Some argue that low health literacy in Australia makes it easy for what they call “pseudoscientific practitioners” to practice quackery and harmful treatments yet what concerns me is that what they are calling 'anti-scientific' are often herbs that do have proven efficacy across time - naturopathy, for example, has a huge scientific background. It also belies the fact that many natural medicine modalities have thousands of years of study backing them up, despite there not being so called 'legitimate' research. Wouldn't it be better to raise health literacy than control it in this way? By removing their inclusion in health rebates it just serves to reduce their legitimacy in a population that needs natural therapy far more than it needs so called 'legitimate' remedies funded by big pharma.

Many legitimate health businesses are going to to suffer because of this, and it seems that if this happens, we're going to have less freedom to pick and choose what health care is best for our bodies and minds. It seems counter intuitive in an age where natural medicines are gaining in popularity. It just seems to funnel us down the road of mainstream medicine which is often underresourced and does not suit every person. I for one am going to be really pissed off when I can't visit my naturopath coz it's shut down or the price is prohibitive and I go to the doctor who yet again rushes me through an appointment because he has too many on his list that afternoon and writes me a script for anti-depressants and tells me to go for a walk and eat healthy, like I don't know that already.

I'm lucky I have the Natural Medicine tribe and a bank of wisdom here to help me out, so that's not going to happen - it's the point of the thing that bothers me.

image.png

Please can I ask you to sign this petition which is appealing this decision?

The petition is put forth by 'Your Health, Your Choice who outline their concerns:

  • Private Health Insurance rebates for natural therapies to be cut April 2019.
  • Labor will introduce a GST TAX on natural medicine and therapies.
  • Anti-complementary medicine lobby groups continue attempts to influence > - health policy.
  • Positive evidence ignored in Government-funded research.
  • Educational courses are being shut down and practitioners unable to access ingredients.

How might your freedom of choice be limited when it comes to natural medicines?

Are there bans on particular practices near you?

Do you believe it's our choice when it comes to our health?

Are you an Australian health care provider that might be affected by this decision?

image.png

Please feel free to write about this topic - we'd love to hear from you, and don't forget there is 5 SBD in Steem Basic Income for the best posts! @senorcoconut was first off the mark with his great post here on Freedom of Natural Birth - check it out!

image.png

I'd really like to big up @eaglespirit for this fantastic initiative, and all the people who've written under this #freedomfriday tag. Freedom is important to fight for - you never know how much you loved it until it's taken away from you.



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

image.png
Have you heard of @naturalmedicine? You can join the fun on Discord here!

left.gifriverflows.gif

Sort:  

Wow - this is a REALLY IMPORTANT POST. I'm just working on today's NM-ecotrain post but now I have tomorrow's topic and focus CLEAR and SORTED. Very nice!! Looking forward to contributing before Sunday.

Oh, I can't wait to see what you are up to! Thanks for the resteem AND THE CAPITALS!!

Haha.... sorry for the caps. Feeling a bit ranty after 3 hours on the phone to the Thai govt re changes to Japanese import regs, and a courier box finally tracked after a month of non delivery. "Truck had accident. Box was lost." haha. Permission to drink. :)

Granted. Virtual having a drink with you. I love capitals. WHY NOT!

Cheers and an upvote on the side!! x

Honestly I feel a bit sad about the state of things here. I’m not feeling encouraged to return to the fold.

Whilst TCM is regulated along mainstream medicine, I feel that it’s slowly getting to the point where practitioners will be restricted to treating only that which has ‘evidence’ — which of course is very little, as Western scientist refuse to acknowledge any research that comes out of China, and restrict funding for research.

It would be a pity if this all became underground.

I know this may not be the most favoured approach but perhaps it needs to return to being an informal, ‘hobby’ practice done for love not money. It would get rid of the capitalist-driven quackery that unfortunately dominates the profession.

😥🙏🏽☯️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Why must the entire nation be forced to become the guinea pigs and financial slaves to the monopoly practices of socialized medicine?

This is the question I have not yet found a satisfying answer to in the age of modern medicine, hospitals, and doctors. Drugs, vaccines, and surgeries... I don't know of any of these practices healing anyone. They might prevent symptoms, but always lead to to more future problems that will require more treatments to deal with the now-weakened immune system.

The human body is an amazing thing able to heal itself in many ways. Why would we want to permanently, physically alter its basic balancing systems?

After any major treatment or surgery, if the doctor can't prescribe a drug, a good doctor at least always gives the same advice. Maintain a healthy lifestyle routine.

Exercise. Diet. Nutrition. Positive Mind. Empowerment. Community Building. Learning. Teaching. Sharing. None of these things can heal a person completely. There are routine practices that can be done to strengthen the effectiveness of the body to maintain health and fight disease. That is something modern medicine can never do.


Thank you for contributing this post. I really hope things work out better for you and your country. We are the catalyst for change.

Curated for #informationwar (by @gregorypatrick)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 9,500 Steem Power and 40+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 250+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • I have shared this post to our Gab, Twitter, Tumblr and Freedomsocial feeds as well as our reddit!! Join us everywhere Decentralized News lives and start sharing your Steemit posts directly to The IW, via the share button on your Steemit post!!!

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Leadership/Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call

  • Check out our live interactive podcasts every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday at 12am UTC.

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

My feed is suddenly flooded with the first freedomfriday. After yawning over a couple posts I'm falling asleep reading yours. I know you won't be offended @riverflows ;) We also don't have health insurance. Probably for the same reasons but after my amazing homebirth turned emergency and we had to pay....gulp....the entire....gulp....hospital bill.....GULP...my husband is now nervous about NOT having medical coverage. Such a difficult decision. I am natural all the way (can you tell?!!) but my emergency almost finished. The medical profession are modern day highway robbers and it was an already horrendous experience. Oh drat! And now I'm wide awake...Guess I'll be heading on over to @senorcoconut's Natural Birth post

Hahaha.. you always make me laugh.

We don't have it either... it's highway robbery. However we still need the CHOICE, is what I'm saying.

I didn’t yawn ... 🧚🏽‍♂️

Petition signed! Those pharmaceutical companies are very powerful and you can bet they've got there hands in this - more concerned for the health of their pocketbooks than the health of the people! Thank goodness for the Natural Medicine community!

This is fantastic and I love how you do implement info from Aussie land it’s so important for us all to learn more about what people are going through worldwide. Love you sister!!

Thank you. I do think I may as well Embrace where I live and write about it it is what I know. I also find it helps me find out more about what is going on in my own country. I like reading about what is happening in other people's worlds comma so I figure that people might appreciate this perspective. I enjoyed writing this piece. I have also love to reading everybody else is too. What sweet challenge xx

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43