Eagle Spirit's Freedom Friday Initiative No. 3 ===> Exploring The Freedom Of Religion!

in #freedomfriday6 years ago (edited)

When I began the #FreedomFriday initiative about two months ago, the last thing I wanted was for this to become a political agenda. My main idea here is to bring people together to express their feeling about the word Freedom. This initiative began when I saw the situation occur with The China Ink Girl. Maybe it was the observance of a sweet girl speaking her truth that jolted me into action, but overall I felt as if I couldn't let her disappear without a trace and not say something.

image

Understanding Religion, Encourage Dialogue

This feeling was further cemented when I saw Alex Jones and many others were kicked off of YouTube, Twitter, and many other websites. Whether I agree with anyone's choice of expression, I do not feel we need to be silenced. Actually, I'm quite fed up with staying silent and being a slave to a system that only looks out for the very few. My stance on this, is that I feel the more of us who speak up and voice our feelings then we have a chance to change the frequency of how humankind is living.

When we change the frequency to encourage freedom in all the senses of the word, then we climb out of slavery and attain complete freedom. That said every week or thereabouts, myself and the group I'm a member of @freedomtribe led by @richardcrill, who have been kind to join my initiative will present an aspect of freedom for the Steemit community to think about and act upon.

You see, when we start something, sometimes there are many that will stand up, take notice, and fight alongside you. This week we will discuss the subject of Freedom of Religion that was briefly discussed in our group and suggested by @richardcrill.

Let us begin ...

image

Religious Harmony

When I was a child I grew up in a very strict religious household, my great-grandparents were the conservative Catholic type, and they went to church three times a week, said prayers throughout the day and night, and we even had a holy water bowl as you entered the house to bless yourself.

These practices were instilled within my family for generations on my mother’s side of the family. If my family had lived in a country where this was not free to explore, I would not be the person I am today.

My situation like many, is that we are born into a religion by birth and are encouraged to stick with it until we die. Little did they know Eagle Spirit had a lot on her mind even as a child.

Not that I didn't like religion, per say, but it was way to restrictive and the religion itself did not lend itself to answer a lot of my questions. If you know me, then you know my questions are never ending.

So what is religion anyway?

According to Encyclopedia Britannica, religion is:

Human beings’ relation to that which they regard as holy, sacred, absolute, spiritual, divine, or worthy of especial reverence. It is also commonly regarded as consisting of the way people deal with ultimate concerns about their lives and their fate after death.

For some reason that definition didn't sit well with me so let's go to Merriam-Webster Dictionary, where it says:

1.a : the state of a religion
b (1) : the service and worship of God or the supernatural (2) : commitment or devotion to religious faith or observance
2 : a personal set or institutionalized system of religious attitudes, beliefs, and practices
3 archaic : scrupulous conformity : conscientiousness
4 : a cause, principle, or system of beliefs held to with ardor and faith

The definition from Merriam sounded more of what I've seen and felt to be true. Regardless of how we may feel about religion, or different religions we all deserve the right to express our freedom of religion.

image

Freedom of Religion

If we haven't taken the time to explore many religions this might be a time to do so. Even though we may be prescribed to a specific religion, this does not mean we need to be restricted to one belief system.

If we think about it — when we explore many religions or belief systems — we become stronger in knowledge, we have more information to share, and we see where we stand within our soul. However, if you are strong in not exploring then please do not let me block your freedom of religion.

What is religious freedom exactly?

The ACLU explains this pretty well from their website as:

The First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution says that everyone in the United States has the right to practice his or her own religion, or no religion at all.

Our country's founders -- who were of different religious backgrounds themselves -- knew the best way to protect religious liberty was to keep the government out of religion. So they created the First Amendment -- to guarantee the separation of church and state. This fundamental freedom is a major reason why the U.S. has managed to avoid a lot of the religious conflicts that have torn so many other nations apart.

When I read the words "country's founders" I sort of flinched since the reality is my people of the North Native Americas were here way before the "founders" came through and ripped the country apart. In fact, the founders pretty much dismantled the Native American's religion out from under them, not allowing them their way of honoring their spirituality. I use the word religion here but the Northern Native Americans do not use the word religion, they use the word spirituality.

The North Native American along with African Americans were not allowed to dress in traditional clothes and told to burn them. Their ways of celebrating were replaced by the Bible and Christianity.

For the horrible way freedom of religion and/or spirituality was torn apart we have seen suffering take place for many years. Although indigenous spiritual practice was in private with ancient stories kept alive, the death of freedom scarred many cultures and people as a whole.

Some cultures cannot pull themselves up out of the damage that was done from taking this freedom away, but there are those that continue to instill knowledge with oral history and encourage forgiveness. There js hope that these leaders will make a positive difference.

Over the years I've come to bond with the spirituality of my people and celebrate many aspects of spirituality, and not adhere to one set of traditions.

When we think of the word religion the right to have freedom of religion is a tricky one, who are we to say what one should practice or not practice? Personally, I feel it's a human right to have freedom in all we do and not have anyone tell us what to do, think, or feel. Period.

image

Religious Freedom

The tricky part comes in when humanity discusses how a practice "harms others or undermines interests." My hair tends to rise up when I hear these words, maybe beacause flashes of all those movies about the Holocaust or reading historical accounts of those persecuted for their beliefs comes flashing through
my brain. We often see someone wanting power that destroys the good. This is our job, to change the way of life we have all become a part of.

A website Teaching Tolerance describes the law of religious freedom and the rights and civic responsibilities of religious citizens:

As a general rule, the government protects the rights of religious people and institutions to practice their faiths openly and freely without governmental interference unless the practice harms others or undermines other compelling societal interests.

Religious liberty rights are best guarded when each person and group takes responsibility to guard not only their own rights but the rights of others, including those with whom they deeply disagree. This respect for the rights of others is not indifference to theological or moral disagreement, but rather a civic virtue necessary to maintain peace in a religiously diverse society.

As we can see, it is up to each and every one of us to defend and protect those who do have a religion even if we disagree. Being mindful of differences and on the path each one chooses in not for us to judge. We all have a right to be on our own path and someone have our back. Humans are at many different stages individually in their growth, and that is okay. It's time for us to ring the bell of freedom for humanity's sake.

Today, let us celebrate our freedom and share our story! As always, I look forward to reading your comments and thoughts, so please leave one below.

Yours,

Eagle Spirit

ES logo.png

Greetings,

Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a Certified Indian Blood member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Reiki Master-Teacher, Medicine woman in-training, paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, and energy work. Additionally, I'm the creator of #MedicineCardMonday and #FreedomFriday, so if you are interested in receiving a Native American blessing stop by my blog every Monday to say hello!

See you soon, @eaglespirit

Sort:  

great initiative keep up the good work

Great Article, and it looks like I need to catch up on my Burdy's Blog, I am missing out! 🤩
I know you are not the botting type, but I'ma send the

MAGIC PORPOISE just out of Spite... or 😍 😘

i'm not against it, i ran out of SBD bc it was in the tank, so i converted to Steem! YAY
Mah DD as always ... thank you UndyZZZ xoxo

Funny I like the first definition of religion better.. it's less FERVENT. A great post and a great initiative. It's funny bout the founding fathers. As a non American I know little about them yet I don't think well of them due to OUR so called founders being the start of many atrocities to our native people.
Many parallels to yours. Over 250 languages reduced to a handful and so much culture lost, missionaries overwriting that with the bible. Generations stolen. And that's what we celebrate on Australia Day, talking about.our freedom as a nation? Bollocks. Oh dear.. I feel another #freedomfriday post coming on..
Love your work Freedom sister xx

Posted using Partiko Android

@riverflows no kidding? i thought it sounded a bit rough. LOL
thank you so much RF, i truly appreciate your kind words and encouragement. these aren't easy issues. wait til next week! BOOM LOL i may come out with some stuff.
oh yes all the ancients were just put down and nearly destroyed, so very upsetting.
lmaooooooooo "another FF coming on" ahaahahahahah
see how it can be for us? and if we dont speak up then we just fall in line. its a tough spot to be in, but its ours!
thank you sis, much love and blessings

But, but, god said it was OK to kill those savages... History is not always a good teacher. Christians came to the US and said believe this way or die. Hmm sounds almost Islamic.

Don't get me started. Freedom? I'm starting to believe that's a myth too.
Freedom's just another word for nothing left to lose and nothing ain't worth nothing but it's free (Willie Nelson).... Willie Nelson for president!!!

@spozone no you di int say savages ... smdh ... LOL you're so bad
yes it is one of those "starting" positions for sure and one to get upset about.
ahahah omg everyone loves Willie .. .even the indians ... mostly the potheads .. but heh .. he is who he is!
you crack me uppppp
love my Spoz!!

Just let me know when you want that house built. I'll be there. Will work for tacos, marijuana, and broccoli...
Earth home? Sounds fun too. Never done one but I'd like to. Sign me up. We're not really tied down and could easily relocate. I'm getting kinda tired of S tx anyway, been wanting to move outta here for awhile. Maybe I'll buy the lot down the hill or over in the next valley from you and we could throw rocks at each other

@spozone yay! you are awesome and yeah i can make mexican like errrdayyy ... homemade beans, tortillas, everythangg ahahahah MJ ahahah we say canna here :p
broccoli? ok we gotta grow some ahahahah
yeah TX no bueno, they say SHTF will start there but who knows for sure.
yayayy rock throwing woo hooooo hugs

I simply love the expression of freedom, search for our roots is important, follow them is very exciting as long as they do not become the ultimate spiritual and imposition for others. I identified a lot with the religion of your family, the as since childhood practiced religion, the same lived in my family, but with some religious hypocrisy, until I seek God in a retreat, together with Christian Brothers, was a very beautiful community, Possibly share some pictures then, there I knew freedom in the spirit, and God, but I love and admire every religion, every devotion and every culture, I believe that in all God has deposited something very special. I loved your post and the initiative too, many congratulations.

@littledisciples yay thank you so very much for you kind words and support. i loved that you shared your personal experience and feelings. thank you for your positivity and experience. much love, eagle spirit

Beautify said honey 💚 It reminds me of a quote from Voltaire:

I may not agree with what you say, but I shall defend to my death your right to say it"

Just because we do not agree with something does not mean we have to silence it. There are many paths that lead to one center and our diversity is a gorgeous thing. This was such a nice read, thank you for sharing it with us, much love 💚

@zen-art oh oh, he is my favorite! funny you should choose him. :)
so happy you liked it and thank you for your kind and loving words. much love

I also grew up Catholic. I felt pretty devout myself. Then I went to war. That changes things I never felt god, or Jesus, or anyone else. Only me. Then I had a near death experience. Guess what. It was me who kept me alive not some dead Jewish guy from the desert. Me. Anyways, later on, I rediscovered the traditions of my pre-Christian in European ancestors. It was eye-opening. I will steal a saying from the native Americans drink from your own well. And that is my suggestion to everyone. You have a native religion whoever you are. Discover it and find out how loudly it speaks to you and through you. It is life changing. I think this is really cool and is devastating that we still live in a world where your personal beliefs can get you killed. I hope everyone stays safe out there but follow your heart. It will lead you where you need to be.

@balticbadger than you for sharing your amazing experience, you are so very kind to share that with us.
i had an NDE too, but at 5 LOL
OUR ancestors are SO important and you are Right ON there brother! tho i still love me some Jesus. Just sayin. :)
yeah it is devastating and a bit outrageous that religion can still kill. we must end that.
love your support and encouragement. much love, ES

@eaglespirit
Im not a super big fan of big organized religon, more of the "spiritually-flexible" kind of person. I do understand the value of people gathering to pray for something good, and there is a positive spiritual value in most religions I believe, as long as religion is not used as a tool of oppression and it empowers the individual I think it's a good thing!!!

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and inspiring conversations concerning freedom, since Im a big fan of freedom and against all form of oppression, reading this post made me very happy!!!

/FF

@friendly-fenix me either i have to say but i can't say that ... LOL i guess i can but its not really popular. :p
i'm with you 100 my friend! yay happiness and maybe you can join next friday. the topic will be What does Freedom Mean To You?

see you soon! xo

@eaglespirit
I also liked your writings on the difference between joy and happiness, I was contemplating that concept this whole week. Join, uhm, if its discord no, if its dlive yes probably =).

Freedom I guess it is pretty close to independence, being unrestricted?
Not living in fear with loads of obligations and constraints and little or no reward?
Slavery would be the polar opposite of freedom for me I think...

/FF

@friendly-fenix oh yes thank you! yay joy and happiness woot woot !!
LOL yes its discord hahahah
yes and thats what many of us feel we are in ... slavery :(

ES

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Eagle Spirit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you so much for using our service! Congratulations! This round earned an ROI of 25.54% with total bids of: 0.648$

You just received 15.04% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @minnowpond!

Want to earn more with us? Our APR can reach as high as
15% or more!

More portion of profit will be given to delegators, as the SP pool grows!

Comment below or any post with "@opb !delegate [DelegationAmount]" to find out about current APR, estimated daily earnings in SBD/STEEM

You can now also make bids by commenting "@opb !vote post [BidAmount] [SBD|STEEM]" on any post without the hassle of pasting url to memo!

* Please note you do not have to key in [] for the command to work, APR can be affected by STEEM prices

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56