You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freedom Friday No. 5: "How Do I Feel About The Freedom To Bear Arms?"

in #freedomfriday6 years ago

Wow. Your story.

I grew up on the 'other side' of guns. By the time I was 4 years old I was shooting with regularity. By the time I was 6 I had learned the drill utterly and was trusted to shoot by myself. By the time I was 10 I was a licensed hunter.

So a gun to me is a tool, same a hammer or hoe. It is the responsibility of every gun owner to be responsible for their weapon (s) at all times. If everyone just followed that we'd be reading about a lot less incidents.

But I digress. The question is the right to bear arms. Yes. Simple answer.

Do I carry? Yes. Arizona is a 2nd amendment state, so no permit is required to carry a concealed piece. It makes for a pretty polite citizenry when you have to think that everyone is armed.

You asked another question. Am I prepared to fight? Yes. Another simple answer.

Thank you for your willingness to address tough subjects. It really is important.

Sort:  

thank you BT!
the other side? playing with guns as a kid, is that licensed and legal anywhere? i dunno LOL
many people are taught by parents on their land in many states. some people like how i was taught was from a drug dealer but he also was a green beret vet. LOL
yes that's how i was raised ... a tool ... hobby ... etc.
i learned more about responsibility as i got older and had classes.
glad you stop by and read, thank you so much!

It was legal in the early 1950s. I didn't try to buy a gun until I was 13 but that went off without a hitch. My father taught me how to handle a weapon then he taught me how to shoot. By the time I was 6 I was competent enough in his mind to use a single shot hammer dropped .22 rifle by myself.

By the time I was 10 I had taken a shooting education class and was a licensed hunter. State AND Federal. By the time I was 13 I had to give up the single shot shotgun that I'd started hunting with and bought my own. I also got a .22 rifle about then by selling magazine subscriptions. I let that gun slip away after I lost my eye (It was a right handed bolt that I could no longer use) and gave it to my brother. His kids learned to shoot with it, and if appropriate, his grandchildren will.

When I was about 10 my father devised a system for ammo dispersion. He gave me and my brother one .22 bullet every morning. We could trade a bird carcass to mother for another bullet all day long, but once we missed we were done for the day. We were both pretty darn good shots.

yeah weird, i think i was 12 years old to hold my first gun, but i had held a samurai sword and machete before that, i think knife fighting techniques too. hand combat but for a kid lol not adult.
i'm still taking classes, and practice.
oh no, didn't know you ahd lost your eye. you still ride a motorcycle with one eye????? is that safe? i grew up with bikers and that doesn't seem safe LOL
good shots are fun, i happened to just go shooting and it comes natural. weird i know. in the blood suppose

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59231.61
ETH 2996.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78