The Long Awaited Purple Stripes On The Melon Pear Are Finnally Here

in #freedomfirst6 years ago

8b0b945b-a5a4-4ea8-91e3-9b731a98e4de.jpeg


i must admit that the melon pezr - or sweet pepino - id one of my favorite kinds of fruit.
the only downside to them is that they take an aweful long time to ripen.

Today, I noticed some of the fruits were showing their typical.purple stripes, which indicates they will be ready to eat soon.

i assume I'll be able to.pick and taste the first ones next week. I can hardly wait :0)


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

whoa nice! where do these grow? in euro? send me one please :p

The plant originates in Peru and Colombia.
I love them so much I'm going to keep them all tto.myself ;0)

how big is the fruit

About a hand's big

howdy tonight simplymike! what are those things? I mean what do they taste like, are they a melon type thing? never heard of em.

They are called sweet pepino or melon pear. Their taste is a bit of a combination of both.
Best fruit I ever had :0)

howdy back simplymike..really! and I suppose they only grow those in Europe?

No, actually it is a South-American plant

howdy there simplymike! I just read a great post that you put out today! anyway well that plant is along way from home then! it was funny because I just saw someone else show that on their post and I went hey! I know what that is! but I don't recall whose post or what country but that thing gets around!

how you doin? did ya'll ever do another get away?

I wonder what the pulp looks like when it is ripe. And how does it taste? Does it taste like the water melon with red pulp when ripe? Or does it taste like the common pepino (cucumber) with pale green to whitish pulp? You called it fruit but I thought pepino is categorized as vegetable. I guess I must be wrong.

I don't know why exactly, but it is called 'sweet pepino'.
The taste is compareable with melon nd is extremely delicious

Is the pulp also red like water melon or whitish like pepino?

It looks like creamy light yellow.
My guess is that the bigger ones will need about one more week to get ripe.
Once I have one, I will cut it in half and make a post out of it :0)

I'm trying to imagine the creamy light yellow. Yes, it's a good idea that you have another post when it is ripe. 😊

It's a shame I can't make any of thes 4D-videos.... If I could, you could even tzste it, lo

Maybe you can just send one over when it is ripe. Just send it via express delivery so it won't get overripe. 😀

Congratulations @simplymike! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

High! :) Glad for this connection...
and I'm happy to admin our areas of interest quite match :)
Never tried pepino btw...

Delicious and delicious fruit

It's for sure the most delicious fruit I ever had...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74