Freedom Challenge: What is Holding Me Back from Feeling Free?

in #freedomchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Ahh, freedom. It is something most people aspire too and which the brave accomplish. But what is freedom? 

To me, freedom is having sovereignty over all of my own actions and my life. Freedom is being authentic and able to pursue my passions as I please! Freedom is being in love with myself and having inner peace. That is what freedom means to me, but definitions vary from person to person. 

For some people, freedom doesn't have to do with authenticity or passions or peace at all! My grandma says that "money is freedom" and that is definitely a dangerous thought, sure money can help you do what you want in your life, but chasing money is not really freedom at all, its slavery in disguise, at least the way it is set up nowadays. Some people think that being free means that you can do whatever you want without consequences, and that is also a dangerously un-free thought. If your freedom means harming others and suppressing them, then its not really free at all because you are inhibiting others freedoms. 

So what is holding me back from freedom?

If I was thinking about my grandmas perspective, then I would have to say that the lack of money right now is holding me back, or as some people thing, the inability to morally do whatever I want and disregard others feelings is preventing me from being free. Both of these conclusions are bullshit though, because despite the fact I have no money right now, I still have the ability to think and act for myself. I can pursue my passions creatively without money, and I can find inner peace without it too. I don't need to trample on others or fulfill my impulsive whims to be free either, no way! 

But what is really holding me back from being totally free? I suppose along with freedom comes the ability to fail miserably! (on my own terms, ha ha!) I am not really failing miserably, but I definitely could be doing something different I think, in order to take my freedom and fully make the best of it! Nearly odd seeming, it seems to be discipline and ritual that I need now to fully embrace my freedom. 

I am not going to talk too much about the physical and fictional institutions that are somewhat inhibiting my freedom right now. It will turn into a rant about needing permission and serf ID from my feudal masters in order to by alcohol and smokes haha. That is not really keeping me from being free right now, in fact it is a new sort of (fictional and bullshit) freedom that I just got hold of. It doesn't change my ability to choose for myself or be authentic and love myself at all. I am not going to talk much about needing a job or permission to drive or needing inhalers from Big Pharma to breathe. This is all stuff that I will change slowly over the next decade of my life in order to escape the bullshit. These things really can only be changed slowly! 

Practical things like gardens, herbology and cryptocurrency will all slowly free me from the bullshit like that. But what I need to truly be free and work towards these goals is in fact self discipline and ritual. I find it kinda funny and ironic that it is self discipline and ritual that I need to be more free! Both things seem counter to uninhibited freedom, but really I think they fit in just fine.

It is self discipline I need in order to get things done. I really am impulsive and easily distracted. The lack of focus in my life inhibits my ability to pursue my passions, and often I find myself at the mercy of my impulses.

 I want to be able to take purposeful and directed action to things that I need to get done in life and also things in which I love doing. Simple stuff like doing the dishes or building chicken coops! Even learning how to run the generator or pump water from the well. The things I do want to do, like gardening, come easier but would still benefit from ritual and discipline, to make it more efficient! I know I will be able to do all sorts of amazing stuff and make lots of accomplishments if only I find the discipline and focus within to actually do it! 

I gotta discipline myself because the things that need to get done are often not what I am in the mood to do. I practiced this sort of perseverance this summer, but I need to keep doing it! I have been a lazy butt all winter (gratefully), and spring is going to be here quickly so I gotta get back into the game! Sometimes you gotta do things you don't feel like doing in order to succeed and reach the heights of freedom. If you think about it, freedom does not just include doing whatever you want all the time, even though that is usually what it seems to be! 

I also need ritual to help me with this, because some structure and rituals will probably help me streamline the processes of life and make doing things easier with time. 

Its simple really, I need to set out certain rituals like getting up early, stretching or yoga before I start my activities for the day, and cutting out the impulse to eat sweets! I think this all might be a byproduct of winter, considering it is nearly always miserable outside, but that should be no excuse for getting nothing done at all (well, to be fair, I have gotten a lot of Steeming done! haha). I know that once I get into the rhythum of warmth and sunshine that it will all be easier, but there is no time to start like now!


So yeah, for me to feel more free I gotta get some structure and discipline back into my life. 

That way I will have plenty of time to work on my passions because I got the boring stuff out of the way fast! I will also be more free because I will feel healthier and more motivated and focused as well, once I get into some more healthy rituals. I  have been full of self-care all winter, taking it easy and resting. Like the plants outside however, I am stirring and reading for a season of productivity! 

It is being productive, disciplined and authentic that will bring me to the heights of freedom!

Thank you for joining me on a little inner journey to discover what I really need in order to feel free and accomplish freedom. Thank you @sagescrub for this awesome contest and well-timed writing prompt! I totally needed it to get the ball rolling. I wrote this stuff down now, and presented it to the world. No going back! 

If you would like to join in on the #freedomchallenge then check out This Post for the contest deets!

All photos are from pixabay, canva or are my own <3

Let us keep on Steeming on!

Sort:  

You are funny, and witty, I enjoyed this :) "do not squander time, it is the stuff life is made of" Sounds like you are mentally free so that is a big head start on "normal" people!

ahh I suppose so haha, I am also free by living in the woods, lucky me :P Right now we are out of wood so I am free to be cold too! Haha.
I like that quote, it is so true! I reallly realllllyyyy need to work on my time management skills >.< Like so bad.
Glad you enjoyed <3 I sent you a message through your wallet. If your on discord you can contact me there? @Cae#8538 on discord.

Oh god I can hardly figure out the blogging part, might take another month to figure out the discord thing, but I'll definitely be following you here.. Ps. You are in BC how the hell can you be out of wood HA! Try finding wood for the stove in SK, now that is a chore

lol the wood is buried under 4 ft of snow haha, lotsa work to go get it. If we were not so broke I would go buy it at this point.

Ah I really liked the conclusion you came to

I find it kinda funny and ironic that it is self discipline and ritual that I need to be more free!

It's like that paradox at the core of the universe. in order to be free, we must have discipline lol! I think for me the distinction is self-discipline and not having it come from outside of myself- that would make me feel undoubtedly un-free... I had a very disciplined upbringing (through sports and christian school, etc) and after, i that threw off a lot of discipline, only to realize what you just stated... that it is needed <3

Yeah I totally agree, I love paradox! I had a pretty diciplined life as a kid too, and I really rebelled against that. Its time to find the happy ground between these two, but with discipline from within! Other people trying to discipline me doesnt work haha

If you define freedom as the ability to spend your time doing what you want, rather than what someone else wants you to do, then I would agree with that Grandma that money can help make that easier. The problem though is that the more people have, the more they want, and soon they become slaves to money and the material possessions that they accumulate. I am still working on saving enough money, while learning to live with less…and I think that it’s easier to truly feel free when you find the right balance.

yeah I do not totally think money is bad, just that relying on it is lame. As long as you are creative money is less of a factor, and gardens help too :P

Thank you @skycae for participating in the #FreedomChallenge!

Freedom is being in love with myself and having inner peace.

I really appreciate this definition of freedom. Those are not easy things to accomplish for most people. I too am easily distracted and have to reel myself in with focus and discipline to accomplish what I want in life. I definitely appreciate your ambition and desire to make your life better on your own terms. Way to go! I hope you get what you want and I hope you have an amazing spring!

Thank you! I appriciate this awesome contest :P I figured I had to define my own freedom since I missed the first challenge. I definately am ambitious in these regards, and would have to say true freedom is a lot harder to obtain rather then 'monetary/fake freedom' haha. I am not totally free yet, but am slowly escaping my cocoon. <3

Good for your @skycae!! I am quite sure your ambition will be well worth it. Keep up the good work :)

but chasing money is not really freedom at all, its slavery in disguise

Yes! I get stuck in this train of thought as well; its an easy trap to fall prey to.

I also need to engage in purposeful and direct action. When we are tired of fighting an uphill battle taking a break is reasonable, but getting back to work can feel nearly impossible. You are definitely not alone in these sentiments.

Pretty sure I could lay off the sweets too. Ha!

Great entry! -Aimee

Hmm indeed. I was argueing the other day, just because you have a ton of money and lots of so called freedom to do whatever you want, doesnt mean you are emotionally or mentally free. If all that money dissapeared, then what kind of freedom will you have? Its sorta redic our twisted definitions of things....

Aha, yes, action! Purpose! Rest! and more important then ever for me, Restraint! Haaha

Let us all do awesome things and free ourselves together <3

Each individual defines freedom on his own terms. Some may actually reach it, while others live in its shadow.

Haha, very poetic and I would have to agree, why not just make everything free tho? :P collectively we got a lot of work to do I suppose!

Freedom, uh, today I touched the feelings of my heart with your subject. Freedom today is just ink on paper in the whole world.
Humanity today is like driving the world without a mind and a heart. I wish mankind a free and peaceful life. I hope that people can wake up today to what they do themselves. I can not express and write more.
Thank you my dear sister @skycae for this great topic
I hope to see more of you

We are slowly starting to take control of the situation the world is in, by takin control of ourselves! It is with hard work that we steer with the heart <3 I hope to see more of you too!

Truly your directions and your tips are wonderful I wish everyone to work it out to achieve this. Thank you dear @skycae

"It is being productive, disciplined and authentic that will bring me to the heights of freedom!"

These are words to live by.

You're absolutely right. Very well put all the way around :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61414.81
ETH 2984.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46