Limiting ~~> Letting Ourselves Emerge | @sagescrub's #freedomchallenge

in #freedomchallenge6 years ago (edited)

What is holding me back from feeling more free?
In a phrase: The story of myself I tell myself.

emilykell.jpg
(The Alchemist by Emily Kell)

Ah... let us reach deep and go to the places that scare us.

This morning after meditation and chanting, Ini and I got to talking. Slow Sunday mornings are a favorite time to unfurl like a new leaf coming out to the warmth of spring's gentler breezes. I had just finished snuggling with the cats (both had climbed into my arms- what a fantastic surprise!).
7322E3E4-BB2C-4025-AA67-5A7FAB42CEFA.jpeg

The conversation was sparked by a thought that had come to me during meditation:

What if I let go of the idea of myself
and let myself emerge?

Rising from the core of this question is an awareness of me holding myself back based on the ideas I have about myself. I wondered at these truths that:

  • The person I was in a certain period of my life is not the person I am today.
  • Attachment to a certain story or identity keeps me from letting myself be who I am (growing into or an aspect of self that is wanting to manifest).

mybirdschalle.jpg
(My Bird by Schalle)

These bring up different questions:

  • As it's impossible to be the person I was in the past, how is the "person I am today" wanting to express herself differently? Are my ideas of myself limiting me in any way?
  • If so, what are some aspects of self that want to be expressed that perhaps I've cancelled out as possibilities or haven't even thought of yet?

Every now and again it is good to reflect on the ways I have become rigid or self-limiting. It's worthwhile to air out those places, see if they're like clothes that are no longer fit for dancing, and prod myself for new ways of being I may like to explore.

morganawallaceanimal.jpg
(By Canadian Artist Morgan Wallace)

As Pema Chodron writes,

“We insist on being Someone, with a capital S. We get security from defining ourselves as worthless or worthy, superior or inferior. We waste precious time exaggerating or romanticizing or belittling ourselves with a complacent surety that yes, that’s who we are. We mistake the openness of our being—the inherent wonder and surprise of each moment—for a solid, irrefutable self. Because of this misunderstanding, we suffer.”
(The Places That Scare You: A Guide to Fearlessness in Difficult Times)

The story of identity keeps us trapped in a past reality.
The thoughts of who we are tie us to a place and time that no longer exists.

The self that is seeking the light of day may be trapped because of thoughts. We can call these limiting because they’re tied to an existing idea. Let the unlimited potential of what you could be soar.

 Oriol Angrill Jordà.jpg
(Oriol Angrill Jordà)

Live your life as an experiment

Takeaways from my reflections:

  • Leave space for aspects you haven’t seen to come forth.
  • Let go of ideas of who you are to see who you really are.
  • Leave it open, let it flow, release your ties to judgement.

pema-chodrons-quotes-5.jpg
(source)

This is in reply to @sagescrub's Freedom Challenge #2:
What Is Holding You Back From Feeling More Free?

Sort:  

Congratulations! You won 2nd place in the Freedom Challenge! https://steemit.com/freedomchallenge/@sagescrub/freedom-challenge-2-wrap-up-winner-announced

Yes, yes, yes! Thank you so for this nice open honesty @mountainjewel.

This message of allowing dismantling as part of self-evolution has been really resonating with me this rounding of 2018. After graduating university with honors, having a job lined up with my degree I began really feeling trapped in the path I had prescribed myself from a young age. I think that it is so deeply important for us to have the time and space to explore the deep corners of ourself without societal conditions or expectations.
This has totally sparked my interest and delight, I love seeing this type of material on steemit!
Heading over to @sagescrub's page to check this challenge out!

I'm so glad you resonate with this and that you're inspired to check out the #freedomchallenge.

Wonderful phrasing!

allowing dismantling as part of self-evolution

Thank you for stopping by and sharing your enthusiasm :D

Nice post you have here, sometimes the only thing holding you back is you, we've got to learn to trust in our abilities and believe we can achieve anything we are determined to.

@mountainjewel, thank you for participating in the #FreedomChallenge!

I really love this idea of redefining yourself or discovering yourself by letting go of who you are. Though it sounds very challenging, for me anyway, I imagine it would be quite worthwhile. Thank you for giving me new ways to look at my identity and why it might be holding me back from evolving!

I feel the same way about having new ways to look at my identity...

I probably have prescribed myself a path several times but I'm sure I get stuck in my ways too!

I didn't even think about digging into the mental side of what is holding me back from feeling more free... wow! Nice write up @mountainjewel

We could also say so many things about spirituality and the possibilities of us as light beings trapped in this communal physical reality...

Yes! Limiting our view of ourselves and what we are capable of is so easy when have preconceived notions about our identity based on past experiences. Well, that was a mouthful! I love this idea of unwraveling who we are by letting go of who we think we are. Our minds are so busy we don't know how to just be anymore. Sorry I missed your payout window. I would really like to upvote this article. Perhaps through a comment / reply? -Aimee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61414.81
ETH 2984.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46