So I decided to abandon the city and come to live in Tepoztlán, a beautiful mexican town. Ask me anything

in #freedom7 years ago

27535566_10156064516099246_806506502_o.jpg
Mexico City was like an ugly brother, I loved it because I've known it since I have a memory but I just don't see what others see in it. Sure, it has cool spots, so if you have money you can Uber from cool spot to cool spot while missing all the dystopic horror around it, but living there is just piling terror.
It used to be a cool vibrant town, but developers came and gentrified everything cool about it. Now the cool spots are all some discount Manhattan only available to the rich, while everyone else have to survive on the falling apart infrastructure.
Oh yea, we also pay taxes. Really don't know why.
Recently an earthquake destroyed most of the cool historic spots and the real estate developers came and took whatever rubble they could to transform it into more malls and more parking spaces.
So I was sick of it and came here, to Tepoztlán, to live in the real Mexico.
The views are beautiful, and the food delicious. I found a really cheap house in the middle of the forest so now my dogs an I go out running every morning.
I'm still kinda shellshocked from abandoning all my friends and family out there, but it was necesary. I could feel the madness of the city creeping into me. Everyone was angry, stressed or sad all the time. Our free time was worthless and on the weekends we just wanted to go get wasted at a loud and dark place to lick our wounds so we could go back to the cubicle on monday, more or less patched up.
Dunno. I miss a city that's no longer there. Big business took it from me, from all of us. Now everything seem so easy and beautiful and I can't help but wonder, why did I kept that life for so long, when this was available, for way less?
Anyway, never settle for less that what you deserve. We spend a lot of time being miserable for a future that may not even come. Let's all just enjoy the present and fuck the corporations that are trying to capitalize on our joy.

Sort:  

@r2cornell sir i am a beginner plz vote me my comment ....nice your post

Hope you can do a introduction post soon. It will go a long way in getting you going on t this platform.

I applaud you for your bravery! It is quite a leap to leave behind what you know, even when you aren't happy with it. I hope you are happy in your new forest home and thank you for the insight about Mexico city. Hearing about what life is really like in other places (when you are not on vacation there) is one of the main reasons that I love Steemit. Also, just a thought, if you put an extra space in between each paragraph, I find it makes it easier for people to read. :) Thanks again for the insightful post!

Thanks a lot. This is like my second post in this platform. I'm really excited about this change of focus in social media. Hopefully we'll build a cool platform for quality content.
Dunno, my thoughts on the matter get really utopic really quickly.

Haha, well it's good to have dreams to strive for. :) I like the phrase "be the change you want to see"

Resteeming your post by the way

Wonderful heartfelt post. Glad I found it. I sure can understand why leaving the city. I myself am so much more happy living in a more rural setting.

Welcome to Steemit.

@r2cornell, sir why are you resteem everybodys post..????

I hit reply and leave a comment as my way of saying thank you for visiting my blog and some upvote and resteem. Many leave quality comments of photographs which enhances my blog. It can also create a dialog where we can get to know each other better.

I resteem some because of their quality content. For newcomers it will get their post out to many more people to view and maybe they will follow.

Hope this answers your question.

I upvote each post (most) because it is a way for them and me to earn a little steem and SBD.

I really cannot resteem everyone. It is also a way I can find a post or a person quickly when I may have forgotten who they were.

By resteeming your introduction post hopefully some of my followers will like what you offer and become your followers too.

If I forgot to say it excellent question!

thank you sir for your comment .
but i need an idea that how will improve my skill in steemit.
plz sir tell me and help me sir.

I hit reply and leave a comment as my way of saying thank you for visiting my blog and some upvote and resteem. Many leave quality comments of photographs which enhances my blog. It can also create a dialog where we can get to know each other better.

I resteem some because of their quality content. For newcomers it will get their post out to many more people to view and maybe they will follow.

Hope this answers your question.

I upvote each post (most) because it is a way for them and me to earn a little steem and SBD.

its really an amazing post i would been lost it if @r2cornell sir didnt resteem it. thanxs for resteeming such an great post with us.

wow nice place sir
thanks for your sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70