My first time with Mosaic tiles, Squat the world! Catching up onchain.

in #freedom4 years ago (edited)

The Winter Comes..

.. Which means until 5G is everywhere at least, I can get online! I've been quite busy finishing up my old job and getting the cabin decorated as we left it undone after the renovation because we didnt know how long we would stay here but know finally the main part of it is done. The last time I did a Kitchen upgrade, I had just fitted a sink and then I was starting the tiling but I came stuck when the universe didn't send me a tile cutter!

image.png

But luckily Mosaic tiling came to mind to get over the problem, plus i had always wanted the chance to try it out.

I had also painted the door white as we had some super waterproof paint kicking around for a while from the trash and I had enough to also paint the kitchen cieling with it so that now the cieling is waterproof which will stop mold in the future and is easy to wipe clean.
DSC04770.JPG

First thing to do was to lay the first whole tiles and go from there, so the first two got set and I left it to go completely dry so that when I would start the Mosaic, I wouldnt be disturbing the others and juggling a circus. By the way I never have done mosaic tiling before so Im not sure how others do walls for example but my way worked well enough.

The Start..

I got these grey tiles from next to a trash container outside a shop, they are floor tiles but suit well as a kitchen top so thats what happened to them! The main thing needed was smashed tiles so i went outside with the hammer and smashed just one up and then started to see what pieces could go where whilst setting them in place when a small area was covered. The pieces on the left ar getting stuck and the ones on the right are 'maybes'.

DSC04773.JPG


Its seems as usual that I forgot to take progress pics, as I was "in the zone"!

...But here is the sink hole ready, and then next was the rest of the work surface.

DSC04774.JPG


DSC04776.JPG

A few bits left to finish of but I will wait until the end to find smaller bits to fill it in...

DSC04777.JPG

Then next to do was the walls!!

... This is how it was when I was waiting for a tile cutter to come, but after a good month I had to think of the mosaic idea. Its blatent that in poorer country's where they don't even have electric for a tile cutter, that this is how they overcome cutting tiles!

DSC04582.JPG

I used pins (thin small nails 20mm long) to bang into the plasterboard to hold the pieces of tiles where I wanted them to stay until they had dried and then i could easily pull out the pins when finished. The red cirdles in the second photo are showing the thin nails..

DSC04781.JPG

DSC04783_LI.jpg


DSC04784.JPGDSC04785.JPG


The Black Pieces are Granite, I found a building sack of trash tiles and took 10 whole ones home on the bus with me a while back..

DSC04788.JPG

DSC04793.JPG


Here it is left to dry and the second photo is after the grouting had been done...

DSC04795.JPG

DSC04799.JPG


Whilst I had made enough grout to do the sink side, there was the perfect amount to finish that side too, apart from a few small bits still, but anyway now I've ran out of tile adhesive! Im happy with my first ever mosiac, and then there was just that part of the wall in the corner to do, which I mananged to have enough adhesive for luckily.

DSC04801.JPG

The last wall part needed to be done.

DSC04815.JPG

I had these huge white tile that I got half price from a tiling shop along with the small black square tiles that are actually also floor tiles but look great on a wall. I actually just held the tile as it is in the photo and whacked the overhanging part with a hammer and it came out like this..

DSC04820.JPG

Nice, Stick it on !!


... and some moments later...

DSC04821.JPG

Whilst those pieces were drying, I had to adjust the french oak edge (from building trash in the city) to sit nicely on level with the freshly dried mosaic pieces. French oak looks great in kitchens, and that day when I took just two pieces with me, there was a huge sack of it sat on the street as trash, but I dont have a van, just a bus pass hahahah.

DSC04848.JPG

How it looks now..
DSC04853.JPG


I do still need to go buy a tub of tile adhesive because I am not finished yet!

The next post will document the decorating of the lounge and my room...

Squat the fucking world bitches! Rent is SLAVERY, house's need people and people need house's so go use those abandoned homes to live in for free!

Big Love & Abundance!

@movingman

image.png

Sort:  

When I heard Mosaic I thought Gaudi and fair play to ya, not far off;) Good job!

Hahahah is Gaudi an artist?!

Oh, you young people. No culture;) Have your wanderings ever taken you to Barcelona? Gaudi is the greatest architect who ever lived......probably. He did some spectacular mosaic work with waste ceramic pieces.

No idea if I even spelt it right hahaha

@trashclub! What a cool name, i will go see what you write about soon 😃

Awesome, same here.

Damn!
It's becoming fucking nice dude! :))
@tipu curate

Yeh thanks mate, getting it all ready to rent out in summer 😎

Haha wasnt that some hut you've found? :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeh man, we occupy it since 2years already! I have documented the whole process on chain to inspire and also to have proof if the owners ever show up 😆😆 I spent atleast 5000euro on building material going halves with the guy I live with so 10k euro in total

Haha I might join ya some day.. :]

Posted using Partiko Android

I went to see another cabin the other day its like a 8min walk away,it was quite cute but needed some work 😃 I want to go be a freak again with wierdos living in wagons in spain and just hodl 😆

Coming baking nicely 👍.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeh man 😃

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 1 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 155 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93