The Noose Tightens

in #freedom7 years ago

JCZQ7367.jpg

Every year I buy my salt water fishing licence. Sometimes I'm lucky and get to go fishing....Other years...the fish run is poor in our area...or I don't have a chance to get out...or I don't have much luck. This photo is from 2015 I think. Anyhow... one year the DFO (Department of Fisheries and Oceans) asked for people to voluntarily report what they catch each month....and I was still sleeping then...so I said, "Sure I can do that." So this year I have received several emails from the DFO telling me to get on to their questionnaire and fill it out, and telling me that my fishing licence is conditional on the completed questionnaire. I left them with this comment:

"What is this supposed to mean?....

'Condition of Licence requires your response to this request. Your Tidal Water Sport Fishing Licence includes a condition of licence which requires you to provide information to DFO about your sport fishing activity when asked. This includes completing this survey.'

I thought participation was voluntary. If it is not... If it is mandatory and my licence is conditional on compliance...then....that is just too much. I hate the level of surveillance developing in this country. I haven't even had a chance to go fishing and already I'm being harassed. Last year it was voluntary...this year, my licence is conditional on compliance, and next year what? I have to send you the gall bladder of every fish I catch? Come on... (and that is all I have to say at this point)"

My advice to young people is never voluntarily give any information to any government agency, and as a libertarian friend once wisely advised me.... "Break the rules in small ways every chance you get." This is perhaps a small example it but we are all being herded into their chute... nothing good can come of it.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. It's disgusting and I'm sorry for you.
I try to non comply with as much as possible these days.

Congratulations @mamalena! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59