Going Off The Grid 1

in #freedom6 years ago

slv.png

My BFF and I are moving off the grid. We are moving to in Southern CO. We have decided. It is a very difficult task to wrap my mind around. Now, however, it's not going to be a communal space - it's just going to be us living out there. It's desolate. But it's lovely. Much better than Denver. We will probably just continue to work on it every weekend until either the SHTF or we move out there, whenever that is.

This past weekend, I watched TABU and asked myself the question - WHAT IF?

What if one morning I woke up and the power grid had been shut down? I guess I just woke up a little bit more.

We are not sure "when" we will actually GO. We have power and water out there now. We have a mobile home stocked full of stuff- including tons of building materials. I guess I am just SICK of talking about the problem. He is definitely sick of talking about it. He is a DO-ER. God sent him to me, because I would not do this on my own. I don't know how. I don't know how to construct things. I know nothing about how to do anything but art. But things here in the city are so bad, I can't even make a living here. He can make a living online. He teaches online and can do that from anywhere.

Otherwise we will grow something. Maybe we will just grow what we need. I don't know. We are working on that solution.

The hardest thing for me about this is to take baby steps toward it and to not know how it's all going to go down or how much we will get done before-hand.

There are so many little things to think about - pots and pans? clothes? food... etc little things that I take for granted that I have - art supplies...and just trying to live here a day at a time without going completely insane. Plus - we have only been together for about 3 months - Who knows if this is the right thing? What about my dog? - I mean if we wait too long, and the thing just gets shut down, we would have to just walk away and leave our animals.

He has an old motorcycle that does not have a computer - we could just ride away on it - because IF the power grid got shut down, they say the cars would not run - I don't understand that. Anything with a computer would not work.

Do I sound cray-cray? Yes. I suppose I do. But I guess we have to plan for the worst and expect the best. And, maybe we can just ease out there. Maybe the power grid won't get shut down. Maybe we can just live on a farm with modern conveniences and come into the city to work?

I might do that - tattoo on the weekends?

Sort:  

Awesome.... we are doing this also... slowly. Taking our time. So far we spend our summers off the grid. Winters here in Canada are harsh. So we are designing a well built Offgrid cabin with lots and lots and lots of insulation.

yes... we have a tiny building that is insulated right now - which we can't really live in. I think the first project will be to create a place that we could live in if we had to - that we could work out of - and that will be this summer's project. We do have water and power - and of course, this counts on the grid staying up but we will work toward going off the grid ... we will also probably plug in a freezer and put some food out there.

We built a teepee and stay there in July and August. On the shore of Lake Superior

Oh so this is the lifestyle change. Why not join your BFF's work and teach online? You just entered the best time to teach and share knowledge after all. There's also the option of enrolling in some online courses and upskill so you can work online (basically anywhere with internet) and have another source of income.

You might want to check this guide for off the grid internet access.

https://offgridsurvival.com/offgridinternet/

well...he actually has a skill to teach online - as an artist, I don't really believe in teaching online - you really do need eyeball to eyeball heart to heart for that - but Iwill surely look into it...

A good place to start is to teach English online. there are lots of websites that look for online English teachers and the demand is high.

wow thanks! I will look into that.

What are the government regulations there about living off-grid?
Is SoCO a place you'd recommend? I am mulling over the idea of getting a cabin in the woods myself. However there is lots of research to be done. Agenda 21 makes it increasingly harder to be left in peace.
Good luck with your adventure, I admire you and also envy you a bit ...

There is a lot of property in Saguache county co very cheap and no laws about living off grid but it’s not easy- you should check it out

Thanks. Looking forward to reading posts about your adventure. Maybe it inspires me enough to develop the guts to do it myself on day :)

excellent post, my dear friend @in2itiveart,
thank you for sharing with us,

I don't think you sound crazy at all. This sounds beautiful.

Thanks- will u throw a few cards?

Yep! Question to ask?

So many? Like where to begin? How to think about it? Are my fears warranted? Should I cash out my sbd to btc to buy supplies ? Normally the thing is so overwhelming that I just have gridlock of the brain and do nothing

when we must believe in our conscience, effort and prayer will produce good results, my teacher taught "the result will not lie the struggle" warm greetings @in2itiveart

I think this is an absolutely great idea. As a fact, this is what I am aiming for and will definitely do some day. I know so many people who cannot imagine going off grid because they feel as if they lose touch with the world. And everyone always wants to stay "up-to-date" with the worlds daily on-goings that even one day without watching or reading the news they feel shut off from the world. But I love that. It helps so much to shift focus onto our present moment and surroundings. Connect with nature and declutter all this external noise which has unsettled us for so long. I am sure that no matter for how long you plan doing that, it will be worth it! :)

Yes I am wanting to get away from the barbaric ways of the city and get close to nature- the idea of hard work outside from dawn to dusk with cows horses and chickens and dogs sounds delicious

Sounds like an adventure that could work. Can you try it out for short periods to see if you like it?

I guess that will depend on what happens- we both have places in the city - we won’t give up until we have to...

Realistically, if the world ever went black we'd all die in a world wide nuclear disaster. Every nuclear power plant in existence would melt down without a way to regulate and cool. This is the huge sticking point I have with dystopian fiction (i.e. the walking dead, revolution, etc.)

The logistics of an apocalypse aside, Going off grid could be very cathartic, especially if you're feeling frustrated by a city existence. Perhaps remaking your reality into one where you feel more connected to the earth and nature is just what you need.

True... that’s a very good point...but the other thing is just hating the city and wanting to simplify things and getting closer to nature

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47