You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homesteading & Off Grid / Self Reliance Lifestyle: The GRID Fights to Keep You in The Matrix for 2 Reasons Only By & Large: E.4

in #freedom7 years ago

I agree. But did you know that in some states it is illegal to be "off grid" I strive to be as off grid as I can. I use my clothesline all summer, from typically April 1 to Nov 1. I use salt in my wash during the winter months so that I can hang them out on a sunny day. I use a laptop. I have solar outdoor sensor lights for my front and back and in the gardens. I don't typically watch TV. I enjoy the ambiance of oil lamps in the evenings as well. I use my BBQ all winter long, I also once the temperature is steady at -10 ish I unplug my deep freeze for the winter and store my food from it in an outdoor freezer I purchased years ago. I just put a block of ice in the bottom and refresh it once every 2 weeks.

outdoor freezer.jpg

So I do my part, and I enjoy a relatively small hydro bill. :)

Sort:  

That's awesome!!

The more we learn about you, the more we like you!

Great job sharing bullet points, maybe more of us can adapt 1 or 2 key points off you in our own lives.

Thanks!

many thanks @barrydutton the feeling is mutual.

As I said in a reply here about self reliant types in the next crash...

100% accurate as I sit here cranking an ETON 10 in 1 radio LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61065.80
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53