Sort:  

Good for you for taking this experience and making it positive by bettering yourself. I keep hearing and telling myself that it's how you handle situations and not what happens to you. For me, it's still battling the mindset of the victim mentality. Why did it happen to me? But from studying the Law of Attraction, I must be responsible in that I attracted it. As tough as it is to swallow, yes, it was me. But good news it, if I send out positive vibes, well, the world opens up!

I definitely understand the "why me?" mentality! I think it's important to give ourselves compassion for that type of feeling and how difficult experiences like these can be; once we allow it (in my experience) it becomes a little easier to move forward. :)

I had an NDE when I was 19. My heart stopped after I drank way too much vodka way too quickly. I was lucky to already be in the ambulance when my heart stopped, so they were able to shock me to bring me back.Otherwise I might not have made it. Funny how the experiences come back to us in daydreams and weird memories that seem so real.

Glad you made it!

Wow, this a story @carywedler. It goes to show you how things can change in a blink of an eye.

Woah at first I thought your story wasn't going to be that alarming.
You reminded me of an event that happened to me 10 years ago.
It was New year's Eve and it was one of the first times that my mother let me drive and take the highway.
I remember that at 8pm she told me that if I wanted to spend the new year with my father family I needed to drive her to her mother's house (grandma's place) and so I did.
I was still an underage but I've always been really careful when driving so I took her there and then I tough on taking the highway to save some time and reach my father's house early, I fill the tank with gasoline on the nearest gas station and just when I was about to take the highway, instant blackout.
I woke up on a side of the road, apparently a truck driver hit my car on the driver side, my car was sent through mid air to a so of the road while spinning and the impact made another car to lose control of the steer.
I was Lucky to only had a concussion and some scratches for the Windows that got broken.
The other driver got mhir injuries modly because he was drunk, even lost a teeth. B the truck driver got arrested for drinking be driving.
That night I never reach my father house I spoke with some officers and a lot od paramedics. But I couldn't remember how it all happened.
3 years ago I woke up from a nightmare on Wich I was having an accident.
I realized it was actually a flashback of that night.

These things happen so quickly! Glad you survived with minimal injuries. :)

and i'm glad for you that you got back on track right after that incident. i hope you can keep learning but on a better and safe enviroment :D

Wow, this was a pretty emotional experience. I'm glad you were ok and even that you could learn a lot from that event. You said your anxiety has came again. I know it's no my bussines but had you gone to psyhologist? It would help you a lot to beat it. Hope you can recover from all this experience to live your life without worries..

My anxiety did return after the accident, but in the last year I have spent a lot of time delving into the causes of that anxiety and experience it way less (and know how to handle it when it does come up!). I'll be posting my speech from Porcfest soon, which discusses all of this in greater detail. :)

As I read your story, I kept thinking, "brick, pillow, both".

I've known people who have had similar experiences, but I don't think they had such an epiphany as you did. But of those I did know, one of them was aware of the long term work required to get well.

To borrow an apt saying for this story, getting well is, "the road less traveled." :)

This is a really well written account of a very personal experience.

Really glad you're still with us, Carey.
Steel, glass and momentum don't negotiate with the human body, and our reactions are never as fast as we think they'll be.

Thank you! I am really glad too hehe. :D

It is impressive to see how after such a big accident you can tell that story for yourself, I tell you my friend, that's why we thank God daily to protect us day and night and take us well by telling our stories we are filled with joy and happiness. emotion really touched me your article friend thanks for sharing

So, so glad you survived. And thrived... :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62040.10
ETH 2417.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58