Another note on "fake" personal freedom

in #freedom5 years ago (edited)

I have to write down this note on personal freedom, following my previous matrix and spirituality post and the following comment from @holoz0r

I've said this some where else, and stole it from someone else. All these people who say they're "letting go" and trying to become "zen" or "one with the universe" still look both ways before they cross any street.

~
There is this popular idea that circulates mostly in esoteric circles. It states that if you are free in your mind, then it doesn't matter what happens on the outside. If you are free in your head, then you are (supposedly) free everywhere and in any real life situation.

I somewhat agree with this idea. I think it can be used as a practical tool to work with one's mindset, emotions, reactions, and decision-making, and to experiment with how our mind and thinking can affect the material world. However, the statement that "freedom in your head" is true freedom just doesn't agree with me.

You see, it's easy to be free in your head. I can easily persuade myself that I am free. It's only a matter of self hypnosis, working with my thought processes, and creating an artificial reality of freedom that's seen and felt only by me in my own imagination. But if this "freedom" has no manifestation in the physical world, isn't it just that - a mere fantasy of my mind?

My martial arts teacher has given me a multitude of examples. Let's look at one of them. Some person says he is free from this "matrix" world, but you see him living in a comfortable house with running hot water, electricity, a refrigerator, and other things that make our lives super comfortable. He drives a car, he buys his food in a supermarket. He takes lots of his ideas about life from books and films created by other minds. His physical body totally depends on all the perks which exist thanks to highly developed technology and city infrastructure. His emotions and physiological reactions are exactly like those of other average human beings who were born and raised in this society. His mood and thinking is affected by what he consumes (food, information, and impressions). And this can go on, and on, and on.

If this person is free in his mind, but his lifestyle, needs, reactions, and dependencies haven't changed drastically... If he says "I don't cling to all this, I just use it because it's there"... then how do we even define this "freedom". What is the point of this freedom - to feel good about yourself in your head? Is it yet another way to feel psychologically comfortable with oneself as in "I am free, I achieved this goal, I don't need to change anything, I am happy"?

This is just something to think about.

Again, I like the idea of being free in one's mind, but it depends how it's used and how it manifests. Is it practical, does it have an effect on the world the person lives in? Or is it just a statement of "Who cares if I have to work 8 to 5 and abide by all the social rules that I hate? I am free in my head while being a practical slave in the physical world, so my slavery is not real."

Sort:  

Well to realize that you want freedom is one break through in itself and yes many of us get stuck in the I realize this rubbish I just use it because it’s there kinda freedom because the next steps are highly uncomfortable like going completely off grid! We are still social creatures I think perhaps if there was an option where people who feel like this could go and just all set their own rules on a piece of land who knows what could happen!

If we don’t have to be born taking all these tribal sides of race, language, religion and nationality and you could be free to just be!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, true... Getting out of any physical setting, mental life view, and habits we are so used to always feels uncomfortable. Sometimes even almost like dying! It's all very complex.

many of us get stuck in the I realize this rubbish I just use it because it’s there kinda freedom

like alcoholics who say "I drink because why not? I can stop anytime" ))

The freedom for me is just the knowing, the ability to decide fully in my mind which then ripples itself out into reality. Relationship dynamics change, real events occur which challenge me to keep reflecting that mindset.

Astral projection helps, so does removing blockages to see the light beyond our eyes.

It's just strange I guess coming from our old mindset

Honestly speaking I think it is just a statement most make. In my entire life I did not met anyone who is truly free.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, same here. In y entire life I have met one person who is (or is very close). But if others knew what he does to be free, I think they would rather die... It is truly monstrous in terms of personal, intimate, physical, and other sacrifices (and I know that it sounds as NOT freedom, but go figure... things don’t work logically there I guess)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65578.21
ETH 2613.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67