You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE TREASURES OF FREEDOM

in #freedom6 years ago

I agree with you, and this is how I would put it. The degree of freedom we can enjoy is almost 100% dependent on the degree of responsibility we are willing to take for our lives. The circumstances we find ourselves in at any moment of any day, are neutral... neither good nor bad. It is our interpretation of the events and circumstances in our life that determines whether it is good or bad.

If Victor Frankl can find freedom in one of the most desperate situations a man could find himself in, then any one of us can be free, no matter the circumstances of our lives. And the better the thoughts, the freer the life.

My thoughts are my own, and there lies true freedom. When I realize my thoughts are not positive, I can choose another thought. It is that simple.

I also agree with you

humanity is simply not ready for anarchy, or capable of self government.

... but I believe that there are more and more of us who are, and our numbers are growing.

And in answer to your parenthetical...

Origin of It’s Not All It’s Cracked Up to Be
This idiom was likely derived from a lesser-known definition of crack, which can mean to tell, talk, or to praise, depending on the context. This meaning stems from Middle English and is seen in other expressions such as cracking a joke. (https://writingexplained.org/idiom-dictionary/not-all-its-cracked-up-to-be)

... if you can believe what you read on the internet...

Sort:  

I appreciate your well thought out comment. Indeed, we are called to be masters of our own minds and thoughts. Even when all else may fail we can, if for only moments, be filled with light. It seems to me, too, that there is a growing number of folks who are evolving. There is hope! Blessings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86