Another Free Stater from Manchester, NH Joins Steemit

in #free8 years ago (edited)

My neighbor, fellow Free-Stater and friend, Randy Clemons posted on Facebook that he joined Steemit, so here I am. I first learned about the Free State Project in that same essay in 2001 and thought it was an interesting idea but that few would heed the call. A few years later I saw that the project was still afloat so I signed up as a Friend with no particular intention or obligation to schelp up to New Hampshire from Brooklyn, NY.

While living in the Big Apple, I joined and became active in Judson Memorial Church in Greenwich Village, completed a masters degree in business communication and started a Ph.D. in Interdisciplinary Studies. While keeping busy, I became aware that NYC was simply too expensive for a retiree living on Social Security. The hunt for a new home began. The only affordable place in New York is Albany and who wants to live in that God-forsaken place? I have friends in Portland, OR so I had a fantasy of moving cross-country but housing was just as pricey there and the cost of moving was horrendous. Thinking cap went back on the top of my head. I had fitful sleep for several weeks in December 2015 when a light bulb went off in my brain! "I wonder if that crazy guy, Jason was still doing his project in New Hampshire?" Turns out he was indeed and a couple thousand folks had joined him. Hmm, now what was that thing called? Free something-or-other. Yep, I found the Free State Project just in time to register for Liberty Forum, to be held in February 2016. Not know a soul in Manchester, NH I found a couch space with a Free Stater and went. Met some really incredible people, including my future roommate. While at Liberty Forum I got my very first bitcoin wallet and started buying things I needed and wanted with bitcoin. I know very little about the blockchain and related things but am dedicated to learning.

I am signer number 19, 557. My motto is, "better late than never!" I will celebrate my 70th birthday in September 2016 as a resident of Manchester, NH dedicated to creating liberty in my lifetime.

Sort:  

Welcome! I saw Randy's post here on Steemit. Very cool to see more freedom loving individuals here. I attended PorcFest this year and really enjoyed it.

Thanks for posting @williamcerf! Glad you liked my intro! Hope to see more from you and others here on SteemIt!

Good sir, your "intro" is better than most people's full-bore blog entry! I'll be trying one myself in the very near future, let's see how it turns out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14