Weekend breaks in Northern France

in #france5 years ago

qvfjw1g7gc.jpg
source

On one of the weekends when I lived in the UK I dragged my family across the Channel for another drive around Northern France. There is so much that happened here and is teeming with history. They thought we were going to more battle sites from World War 1 or World War 2. I had a surprise for them which they weren't expecting.It's called give and take and wanted to give them a treat for putting up with me.

I grew up reading Asterix and so did my kids so when we got closer and saw the signage for Pard de Asterix it became quite clear where we were going. I have been to Disneyland and Asterix Land and Asterix is way better.There are less queues and it isn't as big a rip off.I don't really like theme parks as I would rather be doing something else,but when you have kids you do loads of things you don't want to do.It's all about sharing things together as a family and having quality time together.
4jrm6640sn.jpg
source

Asterix Land is separated into different lands according to their books.They have kept to the story lines very well and the Gaulish village is the center piece. Various rides are scattered through the different areas and there is something for everyone.


source

I don't like roller coasters and tend too dodge them this time I had taken the family there so I couldn't back out. I tend to like watching everyone else having fun. I will pick the rides and with no or little queues it is easy to ride more than you normally would at other theme parks.


source

We used to stay at a hotel about an hour away as one day at a theme park is enough for anyone I think.We used to stay over in a hotel and do shopping in the morning and return to the UK in the early afternoon.It used to be a cheap get away which I think is important to get the feeling of going away,but not really. Just doing something different and experiencing something new.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @niallon11.

I've never heard of Asterix before. I will have to check it out I guess. I am not a fan of roller coasters either. I would much rather ride something much less committee inducing. That's great that you were able to visit and take your family there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 6.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.005 which ranks you at #3559 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 299 places in the last three days (old rank 3858).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 227 contributions, your post is ranked at #72.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78