You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Histoire de ma vie jusqu’à ce jour - Épisode 1 - Je suis né en 1949

in #fr6 years ago

I remember working with a woman who was from Bangladesh. She emigrated here with her mother, sister, and grandmother (her father was still working in Bangladesh). On Halloween her grandmother didn't understand that it was a holiday or the meaning of it but my coworker got a call from her to come to her house and found her in a back closet because she had seen 'devils' in her backyard. The US/Canadian holiday can be a little disturbing if you don't expect it! My Korean friend goes out to the movies that night to avoid the happenings around her house.

Did you join the party or just watch from a distance to see the crazy things that people were doing?

Sort:  

I learned about Halloween when I was in Halifax, in 1979.

When I came to BC in 1994, for the first Halloween, I had put my Navy cap on and I was greeting the kids saying: "Oh, it is my birthday today. I see that you brought me some candy, thank you". Then, I would take one or two of their candies. The young kids would look at me with astonishment, while the parents were smiling, as they could see that I was joking. Then, I would give them back their candies and then more.

Too funny! I can see you doing it and the faces of the kids would be something!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94