Reminisce

in #foxtales6 years ago (edited)

Hu7zcpf.jpg

I was only twelve when I learned what really happened, or rather, when they finally told me. They said my parents died in a car crash. They told it to me like a tale. And that was what it became; another story, like countless others, till the day I saw for myself. The first time I visited the scene, I was seventeen and I had one more year standing in the way of my freedom. That day, I sneaked out, walked down the busy street and turned right, into the narrow path where it happened. They had described the accident so vividly I could feel it. I imagined my father loosing control of the car, just before it shot off the road and crashed into a tree, with my mother seated beside him. I was two years old and in the back seat, unharmed. I stood and studied the tree. The dents were still there, like it happened yesterday. Then, I noticed the strange stares. At first, I thought it was because I’d been standing on the same spot for so long, but then I remembered they were staring because of the way I stood; my right hand in the pocket of my jacket and my left hand placed at the back of my head. It was a pose I learned when I turned five, after I fought the biggest boy in our room. I had done it to hide my bruised and shaky fingers from them. That was twenty years ago. Now, I try to not remember the dirty floors and stinky bathrooms, or the high bunks and cracked ceiling, or the way other children looked at us and said “you’re dirty because you live in a group home” to our faces. I still walk to the scene every week and I still stand with one hand in my pocket and the other at the back of my head, not to hide bruised and shaky fingers this time, but to remember everything I’ve been through.


My entry for Foxtales' one paragraph short story Contest

Image is from the original post.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

may all your dreems come true fellow wordsmith artist ;)
6942092d46bc7b8247071c3c33fb9d05.png

Writing is not my forte ... ;-) upvoted

Give it a try sometime. You may be surprised.

What a cool short story! Good luck in the contest!! Upvoted :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36