#FosterAMinnow Challenge: ♥ @selka! ♥

Have you guys heard of the #FosterAMinnow Challenge?!

Ok I have to admit, I am not really high enough level to effectively foster a minnow. Or anyone really. However, I think @Bozz's #FosterAMinnow Challenge is worth doing, and at the moment, the initiative could use some momentum, however small. Not to mention, we should ALL be helping eachother out, right?!

Here are the basic rules:


  • Pick a user who has less than 60 or so Reputation and less than 300 or so SP.

  • Foster them for two weeks by giving them upvotes and comments on most of their posts.

  • Any two of their posts per week you need to give a 100% upvote on.

  • Write a post using the #fosteraminnow tag telling who you are fostering and why.

That's it! Pretty easy right?

Well, turns out, finding someone to foster was more difficult than I had thought. As I was scrolling through my feed, I was having a really hard time finding anyone who was lower level than myself. Fostering someone with a higher level really wouldn't be doing much. After lots of searching through several tags, I found someone under the #homesteading tag. Now, you guys know I am a homesteader of sorts, so these kinds of posts are very relevant to me. After quite a bit of scrolling, I came across someone by the username of @selka. I read her post about her adorable chicken and thought wow, a girl after my own heart! She only has a rep level of 35 so I could actually help her out some! She only has the one post so far, but she has a fantastic blog that she is transitioning over to Steemit. A newcomer, guys!

So, yes, I am taking a gamble. She only has one post, and might not post again. But I think she will!


P1080043.jpg
Cool Snek picture for attention. This is Shifty, my son's sand boa.

How about it, folks?! Care to join in and #FosterAMinnow? Every little bit helps!


page-break-1024x256.png

Badge comp.png

Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

20180516_002249_0001.png

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

This is super sweet and something I’ve been doing since I hit 500 sp but without a name 😬 names can be so hard to figure out sometimes. Plus I was in adopt a Minnow program to 1k sp ... this is a great thing to do! Love it and congrats on doing it too. Happy new year 🎊🎈

Thanks!
Yes, he mentioned that there were other such initiatives, but hey, any way we can encourage others is great! We dont need to slap a label on it, but I think sometimes initiatives like this can help inspire people to take action who otherwise would not.
I hope so, anyway. ♥

They sure do and the more of us doing them the better.

I think it is great and while I had heard of it I hadn't looked into the details. I think I will though. I will even go find your girl and smack a full 2 cent upVote over there for her.

Awesome, thanks! :D

This is a really great initiative! I’m glad you finally found someone to foster. I will definitely keep this in mind! Thanks for spreading the word!

This something I would like to look into once I will be back home. Thanks!

Great! Hopefully so! ♥

Well, turns out, finding someone to foster was more difficult than I had thought.

Oh, Jeez, tell me about it!!! I wanted to find someone under 40 Rep putting out decent and regular content. I set aside 1/2 hour a day to search for someone -- and I think I have finally found someone putting out a decent blog ... but he's a 47 ... and when he didn't post for 4 days I got worried. I'm hoping it's just 'cause it was a holiday. Otherwise ... back to the drawing board. But took me DAYS to even find him. Srsly, the content in this place just sucks.

I wasnt expecting it to be so hard, and honestly, who knows, maybe she wont even post again, but Im hopeful since she has a whole other blog that looks interesting and she is transferring it over. If not, oh well, no harm done. Its a start, right? Gotta start somewhere...

I knew it wasn't going to be easy. (I know what this place is like!!) But it had been quite a few months since I really went searching for someone to follow. (Mostly I come on them by accident -- and they're usually way too high a rep to qualify for this project.) But, no kidding, 30 minutes of slogging through the dross of the "new" page will answer that burning question, "Why is curation such a problem on Steemit?" It's because nobody with any claim to an actual life has the time to wade through this garbage looking for something to upvote. Whales certainly aren't going to put up with it. Nobody ever became a whale doing that!!!

So true...
Its hard enough trying to make time to get on steemit and make posts and keep up with the people they follow etc. If you could devote a large chunk of your day to Steemit, such as treating it like a full time job, then it would be a possibility, but with values the way they are, I doubt many can devote that much time to it. I sure cant! I dont have a full time paying job, but I have a homestead to run, a household to run, 3 meals a day to fix, and three kids to homeschool. That in and of itself just doesnt leave a lot of time for 'bonus' things like Steemit.

Well, my tentative candidate hasn't posted anything in five days now, so it looks like the search is back on.

This is why I like the SteemVerse
There just enough people out there who are just genuine givers
I don't think I have met this many until I got here which is why I stay :)

There are SO many great people on here for sure! That's why Im sticking around. I love the people here! ♥

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 359 (01/02/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64