You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Amanda Johnson Interview: Intro to Dash and Steemit

in #fort-galt8 years ago

Great interview. Dash ("Darkcoin" as it then was) was the first coin that got me into cryptocurrencies in early 2014. Whilst I don't follow it's developments as much now, I still believe anonymous transactions has a massive role to play in the future . Love Amanda's blend of enthusiasm and knowledge!

Sort:  

Wow, that's interesting that you got into cryptocurrency via an alt coin, I bet that's not too common. Did you have friends in the space, or did you just find it out for yourself?

CG

Well I first heard about Bitcoin after the price spike in late 2013. I looked into it, but when I heard it was a "public ledger" my first thoughts were 'that's a load of crap, why would I (or anyone else) want my personal financial affairs broadcast for the world to see?' I was also shocked that people thought 10 minutes to confirm a transaction was somehow 'fast.'

It wasn't until a friend put me on to Darkcoin and anonymous transactions that I took a keener interest. It was the only coin allegedly offering anonymous transaction so I bought some Bitcoin to buy some Darkcoin. A couple of months later the Cryptonote coins launched, claiming to offer 'truly' anonymous transactions. Those coins looked a better bet than Darkcoin so I invested in them as well.

Since then, Bitcoin has really just been a gateway for me to invest in other cryptocurrencies. I do hold some BTC, however I think most of the innovation is elsewhere in this space (e.g. like this site).

Thanks Nanzo, that's so interesting, I'm still paddling in the crypto pool, I have to wade in a bit further and start checking out other things. It's really good to be able to feed of the expertise of people like yourself.

I'm going to take a look at Dash and ask @bleepcoin what he thinks; he's my cryptoguru :-)

CG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67