Practising Self-ForgivenesssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #forgiveness6 years ago

Self-forgiveness is something that we will need to practice continually as long as we breathe. That's because as long as we are alive, we are bound to do certain things that might need our forgiveness, and there will be times when you will get caught up in all the guilt, the sadness and all the negative emotions that you might even forget to forgive and free yourself.
2gftmzvher.jpg
Source

We might never get to perfect the art, but by putting a conscious effort through practising, we will get better at it. And we will be able to alert ourselves whenever we seem to derail towards that path which might make you act unkindly towards yourself.

Self-forgiveness (or forgiveness in general) is not easy to practice and it definitely doesn't happen overnight. But, all hope is not lost!

You only need to take gradual steps towards it (no matter how small) and with time and constant practice, you will be able to reach your goal. You may want to check out my previous post here to read more about what self-forgiveness is all about.
5frhulmn6x.jpg
Source

Here A Few Steps You Will Want To Take In Your Journey Towards Freeing Yourself

1. Realize What You Need To Forgive Yourself For And Why

Realizing what you are forgiving yourself for is a step in the right direction. You can't forgive if you don't know what or why you are forgiving. So, search through, discover why you are being hard on your self and work towards obtaining that forgiveness from yourself.

2. Understand You Can't Control The Outcome Of Every Situation

If you knew the steps you took were gonna end up bad, you wouldn't have taken it. If you knew the words you said were gonna hurt someone really badly, you probably wouldn't have said it. And if you had your way, you definitely will make sure everything turned out perfectly but well, we can't control everything that happens around us. And that realization alone can help you in wanting to take more steps towards letting go.

3. Accept That The Past Is The Past

It has happened, the deed has already been done. We might not be able to change all that went on in the past but we can do something better, accepting the fact that it is our past and is already behind us. Punishing yourself for what has already passed doesn't seem like the wisest step to take. So, forgive!
r0abtlzogd.jpg
Source

4. Understand Your Worth

Once you are able to understand your worth, you will be able to act a bit more kind to yourself which includes forgiveness and showing love to ourselves.

5. Be Gentle With Yourself

Its gonna take time to be completely over it and finally let go. You won't be able to undo what you've done but you can put in your best into being better now. Gradually, you will get there.
3y8m07kzt9.jpg
Source

Understand that you deserve your own forgiveness. It may seem like don't deserve it sometimes, but that really isn't so. So, let yourself free and enjoy your best life!

.

Much Love, Audrey

Recent Posts You May Like

The Unusual Kind Of Forgiveness

Dealing With Life Changes

For When You Feel Defeated

Don't Hate The Experiences That Shaped You

You Need To Learn To Stand On Your Own

Practising Open-Mindedness

The Beauty Of Being Open-Minded

How To Go About Decluttering Your Life

We Sometimes Need To Declutter Ourlives

Fuel Your Productivity

So, I Just Clocked 50

Sort:  

I love your post! Forgiving yourself, even if it's for small things, is soooo important. I practice self forgiveness every night before going to sleep. Sometimes I don't have anything to forgive myself for. Best feeling ever! Do you know that you can direct your prayers to Kwan Yin, the Bodhisattva of Compassion? She is the Godess of forgiveness. Very strong healing method 🙂

I am glad that you do put an effort into practicing that. It is extremely important, its sad that we often times overlook it.

That's quite interesting, never had of that. Well, that may be because I don't really believe in Goddesses. It works for you?

I believe in angels and energies. And in the power of prayer. For me prayer works. Still figuring out where to direct my prayer at, but I think if it's from the heart, then it doesn't matter.

I believe in Angels too, and the power of prayers as well, just that I have figured where to direct my prayers too and it works quite well for me. And yes, prayers are effective when they are from the heart.

Do you kno da wei?

Thank you for these tips Audrey. I always have hard time forgiving myself. My biggest issue is to realize that the past is the past and I should focus on future. I can torture myself with replaying the situation in my head all over again and thinking what I should have said of what I shouldn't have. I would do it until I got a headache. As crazy as it sounds, I can't help it. But I will try to focus on the steps that you mentioned and hopefully will be able to treat myself more gently.

The torture we often subject ourselves to, yeah? I believe with constant practice you will be able to get better at it, be more gentle with yourself and feel the blessings of being able to let yourself off the hook.

I am glad you found my post helpful.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by audreybits from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57659.68
ETH 2443.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36