WHAT DID WE FIND!? Forest Mushroom Forage!

in #foraging7 years ago

IMG_20170701_192913764.jpg

We Got Really Lucky!

Visiting at a friends house over the weekend, we decided to go for a nice walk in the forest and check on our Chanterelle Mushroom spot! Boy am I ever glad we did! Not only was that spot fruiting but we found a ton more new locations as well!

mushroomforrest.jpg

The number of Chanterelles was amazing from all the rain we have been getting in Georgia! I even found my first Cinnabar Chanterelle! These tiny little red Chanterelles were so numerous! They are my Unicorn! Now if I could just fing Chicken of the Woods!

IMG_20170701_201852122.jpg

The diversity of mushrooms in this forest was incredible! We kept finding new mushrooms around every corner. I took some other varieties home for further identification to determine edibility. Do you know any of the others in this picture?

IMG_20170701_225929956.jpg

Ryan took the camera along for our hike through the forest and I edited his footage together for another great YouTube video! Check it out!

Thank you for reading and watching!

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem! Thanks!wholesomerootsfarmstead.jpg

Sort:  

You guys find any magic ones :P Love the post btww !!

not this time! lol

I'm a little more North so we get chanterelles a little later but if it keeps raining like this it's going to be an awesome year.

chanterelles are a summer mushroom, just started a little early with our rains and heat.

You are doing really well on those chanterelles this summer! Here in Oregon's Willamette Valley, it will be dry until the fall rains. So all I can do is admire yours, lol. You will have the chanterelle trifecta when you find the black trumpets, too. Here's to more great summer mushroom foraging! :D

We are having an incredible year for chanterelles! I would love to find the black trumpets! Thank you!

My dad finds the black trumpets in Arkansas in the summer, along with the yellow chanterelles. His tip is to "look for the holes". Because they won't stand out. You have to be almost on top of them.

I bet I have walked right past them! I do this thing with my eyes when hunting. I say I'm training my eye for golden yellow to find chants. Then they pop out. But if I say black trumpets maybe my brain will listen! I'll try to change gears next time!

Our brains like looking for patterns, that's for sure! I bet if you find one, you will be seeing a lot more! Enjoy all the chanterelles! :D

So cool! I've gone out a few times in the past month but have barely found anything. Even the day after a heavy rain! I'm not letting it get to me. I will continue to go out and hunt wild mushrooms. haha. Thanks for posting this. It's inspiring! I've upvoted it and also now following you for more homesteading posts.

try going out 3 days after a heavy rain!

It's always nice to see the results of a successful foraging outing! It looks like the fungi are really fruiting with your weather. It will be nice to see how you are using your chanterelle harvest, too. That's some good eating, for sure! Happy foraging! :D

We are eating them every way you can imagine, lol! So Good! I will try pickling some as well!

I am still jealous ...wow thats a whole lot of mushrooms yall got!! bon appetite

so good! come get some! lol

Nice! We get Chantrelles here as well but not until the fall. Hoping to get out and get a big harvest this year. They dehydrate up quite nicely and in this form are great to add to stir fries and soups.

Really!? I thought they were a summer mushroom everywhere? I hope you get a lot! We dehydrated a bunch and then saw a post in a mushroom group that said chanterelles are horrible dehydrated??? I never got enough before to try so we will see!

Love it, what a great adventure

thank you friend!

Is that a crown tip coral mushroom on the middle left?

That is what I am thinking it could be!

Nice! We had a good year in North Georgia with chanterelles. But no Cinnabar Chanterelles. I've never seen one in all my years of picking.

I had never seen one either so this was like a kid walking into Willy Wonkas!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43