Physalis Fruits (With Several Benefits)

in #foraging7 years ago (edited)

Variety of medication can be obtained at low cost and even free. The plants around you could bring extraordinary benefits, in fact it could be the plant that you think is useless.

Since ancient times, people survive by nature, and all sorts of plant species has given life and health to anyone in need.

This plant, known by the name of physalis or more full "Physalis peruviana" in scientific language, it has so many benefits for humans.

This plant grows in bushes and in the forests, here until now, yet people who cultivate these plants - in my hometown - because it is still widely and easily to be found. According to some sources that I read, the plant is believed to be a plant that grows in Peru. And now many found everywhere, including in Aceh.


This fruit resemble to tomatoes, but with a small size, and have lids. In the Acehnese language known by the name "Trueng kachueng". "Trueng" is "eggplant" and "kachueng" is a fishy smell. As the name suggests, this fruit has a slightly fishy smell, and have a sour taste and less tasty when eaten.


This is a petal shape that protects the fruit, the petals will wither and dry when the fruit in it is ripe and yellow. Stems a bit like chili stalk, while the leaves are more like tomato leaves.


This tree can reach a height of 1 meter, and each bar has its fruit. I just caught this plant photos in a bush that close to landfills.


Some of the health benefits that can be obtained from fruits such as:

  • Cough medicine
  • Neutralize toxins in the body
  • Manage diabetes
  • Cure epilepsy
  • Helps reduce blood pressure (hypertension)
  • Cure lung
  • And many other benefits.

If you do not feel like eating this fruit in juice or bite it, you can directly ingest these fruits such as the pill, which is directly ingested and help with drinking water.

I saw my parents were sick lungs eating this fruit every day (every single day) and one day my dad spent 4-5 grains of this fruit. For those of you who are interested to try it out, you can directly search on google to be able to get benefits of this fruit. And hopefully my post can help you.


BY: STEEMVEST17

TAKEN WITH: SAMSUNG SM-G530H | February 21, 2017

Sort:  

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here. Join us In the Foraging-Trail and let's discuss Foraging Related Topics

It's beautiful and very interesting post for health!!
Thank you for sharing my friend :)

Thanks @djsonic. I would you can reach benefit from this fruit (in my post) :)

@steemvest17 we call this "laptukay" where I grew up. I used to collect them in our back yards - the yellow ones at least but I don't like their taste when they're green -
have you tried adding it in your salad? They work like balsamicos :)

Oh no, don't tell me to eat it with a salad. I really don't like that taste 😝. I would much rather to swallow it immediately, like swallowing pills 😁

@steemvest17 hahahahah I understand you but it works well with olive oil and soy sauce in a salad -

I don't wanna try it. Or, sometime I will try it. Hihi 😁
Thanks for suggestion :)

Interesting fruits! Thank you for your useful information! I can imagine about the taste from your post, so I think I will not even try it.... :-)

Thanks @tangmo.
But you can eat it when you have sicks (several benefits that I mentioned above), for medicinal used :)

That's really great! But, I do hope that I will not sick and have to eat it! ;)

bem interessante gostei da informação do beneficio desta fruta

Nice foraging! This great little relative of tomatoes has spread to many places around the world. Your post does a good job of showing the kinds of places they are found and how they grow.

The berries wlll taste a lot better if they are really ripe -- fully a deep yellow or yellow-orange, rather than any green or light colors. And some varieties will be bitter, even when they are cooked, and those will have higher amounts of compounds that are not so good to eat. I'm not going to say anything about their medical use, though, because I am not a medical person and have never used them that way. I just eat them.

For more information from another Steemit person, here's a post by @papa-pepper - Tomatillos, Ground Cherries, and Golden Berries. @noganoo is a fan of these berries, too. So maybe they will chime in. I like them raw and cooked like fruit. Happy foraging!

You always have great information about foraging. I love it, thanks @haphazard-hstead...
Actually, the fruit in my hands it has the yellow color, but the yellow color is different from the fruit in your place (I think), just a slightly yellow, but its ripe. :)

It's good to know you are eating the ripe fruit! With some plants, I can appreciate that their ripeness looks different between tropical climates and northern climates. I will go with local knowledge and experience any day! That's why I like seeing your reports! Enjoy your little Physalis fruits! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63935.07
ETH 3138.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87