Hunting for Jiringa Fruit

in #foraging8 years ago (edited)

Native fruits from Southeast Asia, and is now widely grown in the forests of Aceh, even started on the cultivation, because plants "jengkol" (as we call the name here), do not require treatment, aka can grow by itself.

This fruit has a pungent odor, but if you've ever eaten, I can be sure, you will be hooked. The fruit is initially consumed by many people of Java, Sumatra is still relatively new. About tens of years ago.

On my trip along with my friend, (He is a truck driver) who are headed to an inland to pick up and transport the natural stones and materials such as sand and soil. I go with him, and when we got on wilderness, not occupied by the public, I noticed many unkempt jengkol trees. So, I have the initiative to pluck the fruit straight from the tree.

The road leading to the forest is very muddy, lots of mud, knowing only, not public roads, but the roads were made specifically for the transport of materials natural resources only.


Jiringa/jengkol fruit (Latin: Archidendron pauciflorum, synonym: A. jiringa, Pithecellobium jiringa, & P. lobatum) it has a structure like a piece of fruit is round, shell - like
mussel shells, and its contents as beans are split in half. Note the handle, it rotates and is surrounded by fruits.


The road we traveled, using a large truck, to go to the quarry natural stone, in the forests of Aceh, and myself only accompanied him, might as well take a walk, enjoy the view of the forests of Aceh. In addition to these muddy roads I found the jengkol tree that grows very much.


Here it the tree, did not have a big trunk, but the tree is tall, it's difficult when I climb. Alternative I did was to look for a long wooden stick as a tool to take, I tuck a knife at the edges, and I pulled one by one that fruits.

You can see, on the sidelines of the leaves, a brown color, fruit that jiringa/jengkol. there are already mature and could be picked, there are also young. The young has a bitter taste, while the elderly will have a sweet taste (as a vegetable cuisine).


I pick fruit that are old, not much, because many of the fruit immature. There's also that I have picking, but its fruit is rotten. I left rotting in the bush, and which already can be consumed I bringing home.


I gathered from couple of trees, I get the results of two plastic bags, about 3kg, when it pared its contents, only 1.5 kg will be left alone, because the skin of the fruit is a little heavy.


Under the jengkol tree, I see there are seeds that have been willing to grow, I poked it in the roots into the soil, so did not ruin and so that later I can still cropping up again in the back garden of my house. I hope this can grow well, although not using grafting, for too long, I bring back the seedlings only./center>

It is one of the dishes are made using jengkol as its main ingredient, jengkol made of rendang was tasty, cooked with soy sauce, curry, can also be fried, but first we need a long time to boil it, it is done to eliminate the smell, and soften the flesh.

Jengkol if the market price can be relatively expensive, because the plant is still rare, and still rare in the cultivation. You could spend $ 3 for 1 Kg, if it's in meal, 1 Kg was just enough for 1-2 people. So, I'm happy when can pluck this fresh fruit straight from the tree.


I was trying to drive this large truck, but I have not proficient.
By: @steemvest17

Sort:  

Hello @steemvest17,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Thanks @steemtrail
We are the community, we are the family :)

Very nice post and very interesting :)

@steemvest17 use only 4 tags
and use the foraging-trail tag, edit this

I've done, and then?

That's curie, I've submitted there, like usual, not @foraging-trail :D

@steemvest17 true but look the trails found you - after curie this had 14 something - you can't say those trails didn't help and you should know that aren't you one of them foraging-trail members?

Please stop addressing me @ivy here that's not my account, let's not confuse anyone or offend that account's owner.

is it hard to copy paste englishtchrivy and just add @ before it?

Yeaaay.... Thank you so much @englishtchrivy, please rename your account name from "ivy" to "englishtchrivy" :p

@steemvest17 it's not funny anymore
the @ivy is NOT my account.

EDIT: the owner of that account is @angel why don't you check @ivy 's wallet

Why so serious? OK. I stop it.

Really cool, never seen this fruit before!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51