You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mispel or The Medlar Fruit

in #foraging8 years ago (edited)

It's interesting that you can forage medlars. They have been in Europe a long time, so I guess they are in a lot of places by now. What sort of habitat are you finding them in?

I grow medlars in in Oregon's Willamette Valley. I will make a post. Mine are bletting as I type! :D

PS: Can you make it clear that some of these photos are not yours? The way you have posted them, I thought they were yours, until I clicked the links. Please see the guidelines for the @foraging-trail here and here. Thanks!

Sort:  

@haphazard-hstead I was not sure to tag it foraging - but I understood foraging as to find food just scattered around like animals do - so I did. That's how I found them. Thanks for upvoting it!

It's the same ground in this post, as I wrote in the last paragraph - sunny place as there was no other trees around them, in addition - grass on the ground - as the guy explained - it needs an acidic soil. The grass also made it easy picking them up - not dirty. They may have been in other places in Europe but according to the guy it was announced near extinction here a few years ago. They've grown a lot of them to bring them back.

As for the photos - all the sourced ones have blued sentences above them - that's to show the sources. I used HTML to make it more professional. That's how we do it in wpress. If you click on the blued sentences - you'll see they're the source plus those photos don't have my name on it - all of the pics I made always have my name on them but thank you for pointing that out - it's possible you're not the only one who thought that and it's better be cleared up. If you also click the blued "this post" it'll lead you to the link of the post. Every blued word, phrase and sentence in this post would lead you to the references.

That's interesting about how they are not common in Europe, but being brought back. In the catalogs here in the US, they make out like medlars are common, in England especially, and we are missing out. I can see that they would be easy to have growing wild along the edges of parks or unused land. My tree takes absolutely no extra care. It even handles dry summers really well.

As far as the image sources, it would be more clear to put "Image source:" in front of the active link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49