Foraging Food Borage

in #foraging6 years ago

Borage’s official name is Borago officinalis. It is considered an annual herb, however it self-seeds if you allow it to, making it seem more like a perennial. Borage has a long list of common names including: Bee Plant, Beebread, Borage Flower, Borage Leaf, Borage Oil, Borage Seed Oil, Borago, Borago officinalis, Borraja, Bourrache, Bourrache Commune, Burage, Burrage, Common Borage, Common Bugloss, Cool Tankard, Feuille de Bourrache, Fleur de Bourrache, Huile de Bourrache, Huile de Graines de Bourrache, Langue de Bœuf, Ox's Tongue, Pain-des-Abeilles, Talewort, Starflower, Starflower Oil.

Image Source: Pixabay.com

Plant Information

Borage grows between 24 to 36 inches high and will reach out 16 to 20 inches wide. It prefers soil that is fairly rich, so add in some high-quality compost or manure before planting. It does not like to get its feet wet so make sure your soil is well drained.

Because it self-seeds so easily, it makes a great seed to use in Seed Bombs. When you get a chance to take a walk through the woods or across a field, try dropping a few bombs near the tree line. They need some sun, but if you live in southern states, you don’t want it to get all day sun. It would probably be too much for it.

It makes a good companion plant for your garden, especially if you grow strawberries, tomatoes, squash, cucumbers or any veggie that needs bees to help with pollination. It attracts bees so you will have plenty to ensure a good harvest from your garden. Honey bees can also use the flowers to make their honey. They give the honey a nice flavor.

Medicinal Uses

WARNING: The flowers and leaves are safe to eat for most people, however, unless you have the ability to test the chemical composition of the oil, DO NOT make your own oil and take it internally. Some borage seed oil contains a dangerous chemical called pyrrolizidine alkaloids (PAs). PAs can damage the liver and can cause cancer when taken for a length of time.

Borage seed oil is the medicinal part. There is a long list of things it is thought to help with, but make sure you buy oil that states it is PA free.

A word of caution for pregnant women. Speak with your doctor before eat while pregnant. I read articles with differing opinion on it’s safety during pregnancy. Better to be safe than sorry and leave it alone.

Photo by David Wright, courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Eat the Leaves and Flowers

Both the leaves and the flowers are edible and have been eaten since ancient times. The leaves taste much like cucumber and are often added to drinks to impart that fresh clean taste into the drink. But use them fresh. After they have been dried, most of the flavor is gone from them. They are still edible and can help fill an empty stomach, it just won’t be as tasty as fresh.

Both the leaves and the flowers can be added to a wide range of dishes. Drinks (including alcoholic drinks), teas, soups, veggie dishes, stir fry’s, desserts.

My other foraging articles

Cattails
Wild and Mock Strawberries
Seed Bombs
Clover
Fried Dandelion Flowers Recipe
Dandelions
Food Foraging 101 – part 1
Food Foraging 101 - part 2
Food Foraging 10 1- part 3

Sources:

webmd.com
gardeningknowhow.com
rootsimple.com
herb.co.za

Disclaimer:

I cannot be responsible if you have an allergic reaction to a plant or misidentify a plant. Always do your homework. It is always best to see plants in all stages of their life cycle. Take photos, compare to known examples, ask questions in forums specific to foraging. Eating any unknown plant can be hazardous to your health.

Sort:  

I plant a small plot of borage for my bees. It makes the best honey!

Very good! I have never met a beekeeper before. You might be able to answer a question I have never been able to find an answer for. Does having honey bees attract more of other types of bees? I am deathly allergic to hornets and yellow jackets. We have lots of both in our area, but they rarely build nests close by. But, I have been rather afraid to try beekeeping in fear it would attract more.

I don't know for sure, but I do know that when we located them close to where we'd had a problem with red wasps for years, we weren't sure how that would turn out, but they seem to have chased the red wasps away. I don't see many stinging critters around. After I water I still see mud dobbers, but I like those, I think they're pretty. We've also seen a rise in the number of mason bees flying around, but they don't have stingers and are totally welcome. We're working on some mason bee houses for them.

Thank you for your input. I will think about it. I don't eat honey (diabetes), so unless I ramp up to make enough to sell, it might not be worth the effort. I am already working on increasing the food sources for the local bees and butterflies, so there will be plenty of food for them.

We have a lot of carpenter bees (not Masons) and mud dobbers too. They don't bother me. My deck is starting to get rickety from all the holes the carpenters have drilled in it, lol. We occasionally get yellow jackets, hornets and wasps but only occasionally, thankfully.

I almost swear some days you are reading my mind!
I had added borage to my lost of potential additions to my herb garden for next seaosn.

Thanks for compiling all this information here.

I plan on planting some this year also. It took me almost 2 years, but I finally got my raised bed made all the way around the front and side of the house. I did it all myself, so some weeks I was lucky to get one board added. I'm having dirt hauled in sometime soon (depends on the truck driver, lol). Mine are tall so it takes a lot of dirt, but it saves a lot of wear and tear on the back.

I love Borage. The bees love Borage. I love bees working in the garden. Win-win, lol.

I've got some self-seeding in places, although they made a late start this year - not sure why. In one new garden made mainly with last years compost I watched one plant develop with great curiosity (you never know what will spring from a compost heap) and at first thought it was something in the curcubit family but then it just kept growing, with no sign of putting out tendrils or anything remotely curcubit-like ... anyhow I waited some more .. and waited some more ... this thing was becoming rather large. Then it began to develop flowers so I thought "cool, I'll finally be able to identify it". Turns out it is a huge Borage plant!

Bonus! :D

What a GREAT story! That is the sort of thing I would do too. It's growing so let it be till you see what it is, lol.

Great article! I love borage. Happy to find another plant lover. Following!

Thank you! (and I followed back) I have been out of the loop for over 10 years from a car accident, but I am starting to work now on moving a lot of my year to permaculture. I still have lots to learn and will be looking forward to your posts!

:) thanks and sounds great. You're off to a great start and glad you're feeling better

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97