Food is Everywhere

in #foraging6 years ago

I've been interested in foraging for a long time, because I believe that these wild plants, found somewhere deep in nature, uncultivated and grown in clean soil, are the best superfoods available for us - much better than the so modern nowadays supplements and strange foods from the other part of the world. I don't practice it often even though I spent a lot of time in nature simply because I never remember to pick something with me to put the plants in and also gloves for my favorite nettle. I was outside in nature several days ago and I had both by chance in my car so I took the opportunity to do a little foraging for the first time in Rila mountain. By "interested in foraging" I mean I recognize several edible weeds, two mushrooms, no more than 3 herbs and of course the well-known forest fruits :D . After that day though I spent some time reading more about the edible weeds so now I the number of the weeds is significantely bigger and when I am walking somewhere in nature I am constantly looking around trying to identify them and sometimes tasting them. Maybe I am turning slowly into a mountain goat, who knows.

I was actually surprised to learn how many many weeds are edible. Many people believe that they are neither tasty, nor nutritious - that's not true at all. They are generally far more nutritious than just about everything from the modern supermarket. Also they are:

  • local ( and local food is always the best)
  • can be consumed soon after picking - which don't happen so often, if you don't grow your own food
  • naturally organic, bio etc, if you pick them from a clean place
  • an excellent source of vitamins and minerals. For example only 100g nettle contain 481 mg calcium, which is four times more than in 100g milk, almost as much potassium as the bananas, 76 mg vitamin C (oranges have 50mg). Mallow has a significant amount of iron, dandelion - of vitamin A, and so on.
  • in addition it is a pleasant way to learn more about your surrounding and to connect with nature, and also it could be helpful if you get lost somewhere. Wood sorrel not only taste really good, but also is a great thirst quencher and plantain is great for healing wounds or insect bites.

The taste of the edible wild weeds is usually different than the common leafy greens we eat and it take some time to get used to it. The strange thing is that after some time I started to prefer them and even miss their taste in my salads. I read it is a common "side effect" and happens to most people. They have usually far stronger "green" taste, which is for sure strange at the beginning, but if you don't give up, you'll start to love them.

And that was my "catch".

These were my places for “hunting”. I do believe that it matters where your food grows and I am sure that when it’s in some beautiful places in nature, it carries good vibes. The same like “cooked with love”, in this case cooked by nature with love, but raw.

I picked some thyme, St John's wort, strawberries, nettle, sorrel, dandelion and plantain.

Did you know that these weeds are edible? I had no idea before, even though I recognize them and know their names since I was a child.

The thyme turned into an amazing tea as long as I got home. It's so simple - just put it in hot water for 15-20 minutes, sweeten(or not) with honey and that's all. I don't drink tea often, but this is one of my favorites.

I used the strawberries for a simple light dessert - just strawberries, chia seeds and honey. It was great.

And the leafy greens turned into a tasty salad with whatever other vegetables I had. Cooking them is also an option, of course, but I don’t like them cooked and they are also far healthier raw.

The stinging nettle too! Maybe some of you would be surprised, that it can be consumed raw. At least I was when I found out. You just have to smash it very well for example with a glove and it doesn’t sting at all after that. I add salt, olive oil and vinegar before that, then smash it, and that cut it. Dandelion has bitter taste and I wouldn't add a lot of it in a salad, but when mixed with other kinds of greens, the flavor becomes quite balanced. The plantain has interesting flavor - its savor reminds me a little bit of some mushroom. The nettle is not strange for me anymore, but I remember that it was the first time I taste it in a salad long time ago.

I ate my amazing wild leafy greens salad with some new baked potatoes, which was the perfect combination - so simple and so delicious.

A forager I met once in the woods told me about the nettle - “if people knew how great it is for their health, they would eat only nettle” and then grabbed some from his basket, smash it, rolling it between his hands, and directly ate it. He was almost eighty years old and foraging around the mountains and selling leafy greens and mushrooms to some restaurants and on the market was his way to earn money. I wouldn't eat only nettle, but from what I've read it looks like it is a great plant to add to your diet.

I haven’t used the St. John’s wart still, because I couldn’t find any information if it is alright to use it fresh for tea, so probably I have to dry it first.

Other plants that I was surprised to find out that are edible are for example clovers and wood sorrel. You can see the wood sorrel in the photo above (the front one). As I wrote in the beginning they are claimed to be an excellent thirst quencher, which is good to know if you get lost in the woods, as it is abundant there. And for the fern leaves - I don't know, I couldn't find enough information, so probably they are not edible. And on the photo bellow - marrow - the great iron source.

Have you tried any wild edible plants?

Sort:  

In the beginning I had a lot of questions to you, but as I continued to read on, I found the answers. Very interesting post!
I am also familiar with plantain and its useful properties. I am familiar with sorrel. This is generally a storehouse of vitamins. It is very tasty and healthy. It can be added to summer soup. In Russia, we call this soup from sorrel - Green soup. Very tasty dish and in the hot summer days, when you do not want to eat hot food, then this soup is very pleasant and nutritious. I also know about the benefits of nettle, but I haven't tried it myself. I had no idea how to handle her, heh. But you told me very well about it. Nettle, as well as sorrel can be added to the summer cold soups. This is also green soup.
You probably know that much earlier in Russia, especially in rural areas, such products were very popular among peasants. They ate them raw, dried them for the winter.
I also like salads with raw vegetables and herbs. They're very popular in my family. But it is necessary to know the places where you can tear clean grass, because the ecology of some areas is a big question. Therefore, even such useful plants collected in the contaminated area can cause harm. Thank you for Your interesting story and good photos.

Thank you very much, @madlenfox, for this wonderful comment! I love cold soups!! Definitely will check about these cold green soups :))

These weed were actually a big part of the menu of people all around the world before they started cultivating different cultures. Along with berries, mushrooms and everything that Earth offers, so probably it’s in our genes to do foraging :) Absolutely agree about the importance of the place, it’s essential to find clean places!

Hope you’re having a great day!

Great post.. Now I have a basic knowledge of what some of foraging and I think if will improve over time

My pleasure.. I just dropped my introductory post.. I would really love you to check it out.. The link is below
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@lebey1/my-introductory-post-welcome-to-my-world

Very interesting. I know about the stinging nettle and tasted soup my aunt made for many years ago. Other than that I only pick different type of berries. The post made me curios to try other thing. I use to dry herbs and vegetables as I use daily and on hike. They are easy to carry and much better then bought dry food.

Foraging goes so well with hiking! :) That’s really a great idea to dry these on your own! I used to do it before and also carried some dry mixes on my hikes, definitely dry food is great for hiking!
Thank you very much for your comment, @harkar!

That’s like a day in heaven and I feel inspired to discover more of what lays by our feet given so freely by Mother Nature, as it should be. There is a great book by Markus Rothkranz you might like, called free food and medicine. It’s my bible :D

Thank you very much, @stuffing! I will definitely check it! I got three books about foraging this week :D Which are your favourites wild plants for a salad?

Purselane, I could just chomp down on it all day! It’s not bitter and it’s subtle. Which is your favourite or go to?

how delicious is the strawberry candy. It provoked me :)

Hi @danielapetk!

Your post was upvoted by utopian.io in cooperation with ocd - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

Thank you very much!

Great clicks, great abilities preparing your food, great taste for food, great ideas and great love for nature. It comes with no surprise from you. Great work 😊

@melip, you’re so kind! Thank you very much!!! :) Have a great day!

Some years ago, during my hardcore veganism/ raw food period, I used to collect a lot of wild edibles.
A special connection with the plants.
Now there is a mini eco~system in my backyard with some of the favourites.

A какво стана с хардкор веганизма?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00