You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mispel or The Medlar Fruit

in #foraging8 years ago

Great find! This is on my want list. I mentioned it in my persimmon article too.
We call it astringent, because of the pucker factor before it's ready. Not all persimmons are like that though, only the astringent varieties. Other non-astringent ones, especially among the Asian cultivars (like the fuyu) can be eaten while still crisp, like an apple.
I've not tasted this yet. But I do have a place in my yard that really needs a tree!!

Sort:  

@anotherjoe maybe @haphazard-hstead could send you seeds :)
I was looking for you thought - where's the funny joe?

Sorry, the funny joe was busy yesterday. ;)

@anotherjoe, I guess as the holidays approach we all are going to be.
Am glad you're just there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45