You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wild Edibles: Black Staining Polypore and Mushrooms as a Survival Food

in #foraging7 years ago

I second what @haphazard-hstead wrote! We found a bunch of these last year in Central Park, I tried eating one of them. Gary Lincoff warned us, however, that unless they are very young and tender, they'll be extremely chewy. Fried up with a bit of butter, salt, and herbs, it was actually delicious! Problem was, I kept chewing, and chewing, and chewing some more! I think it would have been easier to chew and swallow bubblegum! lol So if you do decide to give it a go, just make sure they're young, small, and very soft and tender! My recent post has a picture of one that we had found here: Central Park MUSHROOM HUNT with Gary Lincoff - YES, you can EAT 'em too, if you DARE...!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.87
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49