You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADVERSE HEALTH IMPLICATIONS OF CONSUMING TOO MUCH (OR ILL PROCESSED) GARRI - EXPERTS SPEAK I (Research Based)

I grew up in the village and back then my grandma used to leave the cassava (after peeling and grating) in a sack for two to three days before frying. But much later, I discovered that processors now did everything within the same day and I began to wonder why my grandma stressed me so much back then. Guess what? My grandma was smarter and wiser because I discovered that for garri to be healthy, it needed some days to actually ferment and get rid of the cyanide contained therein. A very insightful post.

Sort:  

Yes. That is the best way to treat it

Well said, was about dropping similar comment, fermentation will help to reduce the toxic effect of cassava' cyanide

Yes. It will help. Fermentation is actually a complex chemical breakdown process.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43