THE OMELET AND I

DSC00440 (2).JPG

THE OMELET AND I
I do not like my eggs all burnt or lacy
When you are making mine, please don’t be too hasty
The treasured fruit so delicious and tasty
Beckons a biscuit with maybe some gravy

Until I got stuck as second breakfast cook on the line at a local restaurant, and watched the #1 cook cremating all the eggs, I really could have cared less about omelets. I don’t care for them, and I didn’t like making them.

With flames shooting out all around the edge of the egg pan, he cooked the most consistently brown, ugly, over done eggs I have ever seen. He would Laugh and say, “”no guts no glory”. He had no qualms what so ever about putting those burnt offerings on someone’s plate. I was aghast! I could not take it. Lol We had to switch. If he would have asked to switch, I would probably have called rank on him. Maybe that’s what he was trying to do all along! I just thought of that right now! That sneaky little Pauli! LOL Even though I personally did not like making omelets, I at least tried to make them edible.

If there is one thing in this world that puts us all on the same playing field, it is the pleasure and satisfaction of a good meal. Everyone in this household switched over to the “Keto” lifestyle with our eating habits, so this nice 3 egg omelet with the cheeses, meat, and veggies will make this an excellent meal for the day. A perfect balance of protein, Carbohydrates, and good fats.

Here are some things I learned on my journey to becoming Better Omelet maker. I’m not giving you a recipe for what goes in that omelet, you have made them, you know what you want.

DSC00415.JPG

I use a 6-8-inch egg pan, nonstick/ceramic with about 3 Tbsp. butter melting slowly in it. You will need a lid that will fit snuggly over the pan eventually. Have shot glass half full of water waiting. I love my spoonula, heat resistant gadget. Have your goodies ready on the side to toss on, it gets fast and furious as it goes along. You only want to beat your eggs once. More than that makes them tough. Another thing I found out the hard way.
Trusty wire whip ready, small deep bowl to hold 3 eggs and 3 Tbsp. of milk, water, or heavy whipping cream. I always choose the later. Big smile.
This is where you get rid of some frustrations and you beat those eggs so unmercifully they are nearly frothy. You can use an emersion blender, that’s what I used at the restaurant. I’m doing it the old fashion way today.
It is hard to recommend temperature, each stove has it's own quirks. I'm going to shoot for 5, medium/medium high You want your butter hot, but now smoking, when you pour the egg mixture into the pan you want a little sizzle but not a lingering one.

DSC00421.JPG

When you see the egg mixture start to cook around the outside edges you will start to use your spatula or weapon of choice to pull the edges towards the center of the pan. Repeat this all around the pan until most of the liquid has run off around and cooked from the sides in. This process is called “building” the omelet.

DSC00426.JPG

DSC00429.JPG

If it seems to be cooking to quickly, just lift the pan for a few seconds, knock the heat down a notch and go again.

While it is still moist but not sloppy on top, it is time to flip it over. However, you get it there is yours to know. Try to keep it in one piece mostly. This is where it speeds up.

DSC00432 (2).JPG

It has been a while since I've flipped an omelet, so here we go..Well, my camera isn't quick enough to catch it in the air, however, here is proof it is back in the pan! lol I can still do it!!

DSC00433.JPG

Quickly toss on your goodies all over the top, finish with the cheese.

DSC00434 (2).JPG

Now toss that shot glass of water around the edges.

DSC00435.JPG

Slap the lid on, hold it down and gently shake the pan to make sure everything is loose in there. When you lift the lid, you should see a fluffy gooey gooey omelet. Turn heat to low and leave the lid on for about a minute.

DSC00436.JPG

Fold it in half when plating. Put some more cheese on there! Go for it.

DSC00439.JPG

I hope you will give it a try when you are making someone a special breakfast someday. @fishyculture and myself will be eating this one. We deserve something special.

DSC00441.JPG

Thanks to @goldendawne and the @homesteading community for your continued support and encouragement. Shout out to @tattoodjay for tips and good advice. The names are to numerous to mention. I’m having a great time with each and every one of you. I'm trying to keep up with all of you youngens. :) I hope you find these ideas useful or at least entertaining. Have an awesome day everyone.

homesteading badge.png

DQmc75yMiEvNZwe9U2sA7t4ghotVDAWpZp3VsJaRYaJ3fDV.png

Sort:  

I can't flip an omelette to save my life ..but I use cast iron pans so maybe that's the reason? (lol). I love seeing a nicely cooked fluffy egg!

Cast Iron is hard to flip from for sure. Something I learned to do to save time and dishwashing. :)

That looks real good now I know what to try next time I do an omelette thanks for the tips

If you pre cook your vegies, and use the emersion blender they get even puffier.

I have never been a big omelette fan well I eat them out occassionaly but was never happy with how i made them at home so this may change that

I love a good omelet and I will diffidently try the water trick next time. We recently switched to a "lazy" keto diet ourselves. Good Luck!
Following

The steem makes it almost like a souffle. Very yummy. I have been on this program for a year now. I'm in the maintence mode. Once you get going with it and start feeling amazing, it becomes quite easy. 45 lb. went somewhere. I went from a 16 to an 7-8. I even lost a shoe size! I feel amazing. Be sure to take your minerals and vitamins and watch your magnesium and potassium levels. I love it.

Oh its crazy how many vitamins we take everyday. Thank you for the encouragement!

It was just as yummy as it looks!

Thank you. :) Another secret I learned while cooking. If you wait until everyone is starved to death, they may like it better.

Great post! Tasty looking omelet. Usually when I start off as an omelet I wind up with a pretty looking scramble. I used to be pretty good at it when I too worked in a restaurant for a few years. I have been enjoying silently reading some of your posts this week.

Stalking me eh?? LOL teasing! Glad you are enjoying what you read. Never been to proud to work in a resturarant. A place you will never go hungry, no matter how poor the pay rate. :) Thanks for coming by. Twilight zone. Whoa, that was back in the day.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 17:24:09
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 194.10/200.00
Total Photos: 30
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

YUM! That omelette look divine @warpedweaver I've made them for years; some better than others but I think I need to be less hasty and put more love into the process. Thanks for these great tips and photos. (Following)

You have been chosen to be my Fostered Gardener Of The Week Thanks to @fulltimegeek's delegation as a Steward of Gondor @goldendawne will be here for you to assist, guide and help you GROW- just like your garden- on steemit. Please accept this 100% Upvote for this post. You will receive a 100% Upvote for every post (up to seven per week) you make for the seven days CONGRATULATIONS on being a committed steemian!

Thank you once again. I keep seeing all these upvotes in my blog. Wow It is going to be a great week. Thank you so much. I hope I can keep up with the pace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64920.85
ETH 3459.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30