Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 05 : Satay Chicken Salad

in #foodphotography7 years ago (edited)

Hi guys! I thought I'd join in on all the cooking fun and participate in the Steemit Iron Chef competitions! If you are new to the world of Steemit I'd highly recommend trying out some comps as they are a great way to meet new people and to learn more about this amazing platform as well.

This week the theme was nuts. No literally, NUTS. Isn't it perfect that my plant based diet consists of a lot of nuts to make my first ever round less daunting?

It was really hot and humid here today in Omokoroa so all I needed was a good hearty salad as a main so I whipped up a satay chicken salad with my favourite ever faux meat, Sunfed Meats. Unlike the majority of the other faux meats you get which is mainly full of artificial flavours and pure gluten junk, this one is simply pea protein, gluten free, vegan and full of protein, iron and zinc. It also has the most amazing chunky texture and I have fooled many carnivores (including chefs) with it.

The satay chicken was super simple and made with:

  • Sunfed meats
  • Natural chunky peanut butter (I use Pic's)
  • Soy Sauce
  • Sriracha
  • Sesame Oil
  • Coconut Cream
  • Ginger

The salad consisted of:

  • Asian salad mix
  • Pickled radishes
  • Sprouts
  • Carrots
  • Beetroot
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Hemp seeds
  • Red onion
  • Chilli, lime and coriander salad dressing

The richness of the peanut sauce combined with the tangy pickled radishes, the crisp fresh salad and the sweetness of the beetroot was a perfect combo. Who said salads had to be boring?


Disclaimer: All food photos are my own creations

Hope you enjoyed my little salad's photo shoot. If you like what you see here please follow me on my Instagram account for more food photos and to watch my daily life through my stories!

xx Ana

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 09:32:55
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 48.80/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That is a mouth watering salad and it is well loaded. Your satay chicken must be spicy. This is really loads of work but cooking is fun.

I love all my foods spicy! It's actually a lot simpler than it looks! Could probably get it all done in less than 15 minutes :)

You got a 12.98% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @thetinykitchen!

I love your recipe I am a salad lover I can not live without a salad every day and the same I put everything in the salad like you.
Thank you Ana

Thank you! Loaded salads are the best way to make sure you’re getting all your vital nutrients in!

This is what I want for tonight's dinner - hmmm. Too late for running to the supermarket. For tomorrow's dinner then ...

I think I've had it about 4 times since I've made this haha. It's soooo deliciously easy.

Hello my friend! First of all thank you for your interest in Steemit Iron Chef! We are all so happy to discover your entry!
I have never tried Sunfed meat, but looking at your lovely salad makes me wanna give a try soon!
Welcome on board the SIC contest!

Thank you! Sunfed meat is a new company that has started up in New Zealand and their demand is off the roof. Hopefully they can meet the needs of the rest of their world because it needs to go internationally.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77