What's Cooking Challenge - Red Curry with Chicken

in #foodphotography6 years ago

Red Curry with Chicken

PlateItUp.jpg

Click the above photo to enlarge

The combo of coconut milk and cilantro just make this dish one of my favs. I don't have an actual recipe to follow and I never make it the same way twice.

I had some chicken that I needed to use up

Chicken.jpg

I stir fried the chicken in coconut oil for a few minutes until it was brown and then removed it from the pan and set it aside.

StirFryChicken.jpg

Chopped up some garlic

Garlic.jpg

Fried the garlic for a minute

FryGarlic.jpg

Then added a can of coconut milk

CoconutMilk.jpg

Stirred in 2 tablespoons of red curry paste and one tablespoon of brown sugar. When than came to a boil, I returned the chicken back in.

ChickenInSauce.jpg

I got a little lazy and bought carrot noodles

Carrots.jpg

I added a handful of carrots and a handful of frozen peas to the pan. I cooked that all for a couple of minutes until the carrots were soft.

AddTheVeggies.jpg

Meanwhile I had chopped up some cilantro, basil and scallions

IMG_2410.jpg

I added the green stuff to the pan and gave it a good stir.

AddGreenStuff.jpg

And there you go! Pretty quick and easy.

I portioned it out into individual serving bowls

InBowl.jpg

Served on a bed of basmati rice

PlateItUp.jpg

Enjoy!

Me.jpg

This is my entry for #whatscookingchallenge by @jaynie.

Here’s the challenge:

NB: The #whatscookingchallenge is an ONGOING challenge, so you can enter WHENEVER you want and as OFTEN as you want!
1: Use the #whatscookingchallenge tag and tag me @jaynie in your post.
2: Create and publish a post showcasing something that
you have prepared in your kitchen which is either
a) uniquely yours, or b) has been adapted and made your own.
(The more elaborate the post the better, naturally...)
PS. This is NOT limited to "plates of food" - it can be preserves, snacks, anything!
3: Accompany the post with at least 2 photos of whatever it is that you have prepared.
(and in the spirit of avoiding plagiarism, a photo of YOU WITH your dish would be a plus, but is not a requirement)
4: Tag at least 5 (but not limited to) of your foodie friends
that you think would like to participate...

Today I'll tag:
@claudiaz
@byn
@jaynie
@papacrusher
@watersnake101

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries on the following sites:
Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook

Enjoy!

Roger

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

asapers 2.png
Banner by @shai-hulud

Sort:  

I so miss having some curry of any kind. The spices I found here are nothing like the really curry I know.

You might be able to get some on Amazon.com. Thank you for your comments!

Mmmmm.... we used to cook green curry all the time, but since having children we stopped (they find it too hot...), but you've reminded me how much I liked it. Maybe I'll try it with duck tomorrow, and they can just eat it or starve!

Thank you @bengy! The curry paste that I used wasn't hot. My wife won't eat hot stuff.

Just like my preference of the female gender, I love curry of all types: red, yellow and even Captain Kirk green...

Enjoyed your post.

Namaste, Jaichai

Thank you @jaichai! Namaste!

Props to you in this:

(IJCH) "Roger that. Read you 5 X 5, over." - 5 Excellent Posts and 5 Strange Jaichai Comments (or How "Gettin' Some" 5 times results in deviant comments!)

Source

Article Link:

https://steemit.com/humor/@jaichai/ijch-roger-that-read-you-5-x-5-over-5-excellent-posts-and-5-strange-jaichai-comments-or-how-gettin-some-5-times-results-in

Hope it gets you more of that sweet Steemit love.

JC320 black line frame.jpg
Source

Namaste, Jaichai

Thank you, my Friend!

You're very welcome.

May you and yours be well and love life today!

Namaste, JaiChai

I am thankful for every day and for positive Friends like you! Namaste!

"Many thanks placed at your feet, Sahib!"


Source

Doing The Happy Dance Now:


Source

(My African-American, female friend says that her Caucasian husband still dances like that! LOL!)

Good Day to you, Sir.

Namaste, JaiChai

This looks really REALLY yummy AND looks like something I haven't tried before. It looks like something my family would love too. I'm going to bookmark this page and try it out.

Thanks for tagging me! I will definitely get on this, but at the moment I've been sick all week, so I'm not quite up to anything yet. I will definitely participate... maybe when I make my grandson's birthday cake/cookies/treat next week. Or maybe I'll try something healthy between now and then if I'm up to it.

Thank you for your comments @byn! It's a pretty easy recipe. Give it a try. I hope you feel better soon! Cake sounds good! I'm not much of a baker. Brownies are about the only thing that I ever try.

I heading over to check it out now!

I see some rice there, garlic, coconut milk looks absolutely delicious. With coconut milk it is sure a winner. Are there leftovers for me lol. Great work my friend.

Yes, rice, garlic and coconut milk! It's one of my favorites! sorry no left overs. If I knew you were coming I would have made more! Thank you for your comments!

Haha wish I was just next door lol. I'll bring some mussles lol.

It's probably a good thing! We would both get way too fat! But I'm sure it would be fun! mmmmm mussels! They'll be on the menu soon!

FABULOUS dish!! Definitely adding to our healthy menu!
Coconut milk is one of my newest favorite pantry items to have on hand and use.

Thank you! I love coconut milk too. It just gives the dish that perfect flavor!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-26T15:57:09
Account Level: 6
Total XP: 3235.66/6400.00
Total Photos: 296
Total comments: 81
Total contest wins: 26
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This seems so delicious :O
awesome

Thank you for your comments!

Congratulations @rwedegis! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81