Steamed Clams

in #foodphotography6 years ago

Steamed Clams - Easy, Quick, Tasty

SteamedClams.jpg

Click the above photo to enlarge

This is similar to the steamed mussels recipe that I posted a couple of weeks ago. For this recipe I use littleneck clams. They’re the small hard shelled ones. Depending on where you are from they may be called something different. Just as long as they are small (about 1 inch wide) they’ll be tender and tasty. I’ve added a little twist to this to make a thicker sauce, which I prefer. This is also quick and easy and mighty tasty. Just a note: Before you cook them, these clams are alive and need air to breathe. Don’t store them in a sealed container or plastic bag.

Ingredients

4 doz. fresh littleneck clams
3 cloves garlic peeled and minced
1 tbsp. flour
1 stick butter
1 cup dry white wine
1 bunch Italian parsley chopped
Crusty bread

Directions

Clean the clams in cold water. Discard any with broken shells or any that won't close when squeezed.
In a large stock pot melt the butter over low heat. Be careful not to burn it. Add the minced garlic when the butter has melted. Keep stirring the garlic for about 30 seconds. Add the flour and make a light roux. You just want it to thicken up a little, but not be too pasty.

Add the wine and clams. Raise the heat to medium high until the wine begins to boil. Lower the heat to a simmer add the parsley and cover.

Stir occasionally. When all the clams have opened and the meat separates easily from the shell, they are done. This should only take a few minutes. Be careful not to overcook. Discard any clams that didn't open.

Serve with crusty bread. This also goes well served over cooked pasta.

Sort:  

I was also thinking that with pasta it must be good! maybe some garlic bread on the side, and a glass of white wine.... heaven!

Exactly! Yummy! I'm hungry just thinking about it!

I like the amount of ingredients you put in to get this dish done. It didn't sound too complicated but very doable! Yet, check out that picture of your outcome, looking simply delicious and inviting!!!

Clams in my side of the world is called "la-la" haha, just for a fun fact sake. Thanks for this interesting recipe @rwedegis :)

Boosting this, upvoted and resteemed #steemitbloggers

Thank you for your comments and support! "la-la" that's so cool! It's awesome learning about different cultures from all over the world! And realizing that we are all really not that different!

Nice job Roger ;) As I started to read, I thought you'd done a clam recipe before, and then you qualified it :) If memory serves me correctly, you said Sheila doesn't like them; so did you get these beauties all to yourself?:)

And congratulations on being the guinea pig for @steemitbloggers new "Boost" post!

Thank you Lynn! Sheila doesn't like clams either! So these were all mine. I was having second thoughts about posting this because the recipe is so close to the other one. I was afraid that I would get cheetahed!

The "Boost" was cool and totally unexpected!

haha cheetahed! I'm glad you didn't :)

And I was bugging Sheila about it, but when are you going to join @asapers ?? :) You only have to upvote/comment when you put your own post in their "post-promotion"; of course if you choose to do more, that is always welcomed :)

Thanks Lynn! I'll check it out!I prefer groups like that who are all about sharing and not the pay for votes ones!

This is good
I will try this out at home

Thank you! You'll love it!

Oh wow that looks delicious :)

Thank you for your comments!

I love clams and any seafood. We did this at our place using wine, ginger and wolfberry. Thank you for sharing your recipe here. #steemitbloggers

Thank you for your comments! Your recipe sounds good too!

Gonna try this!!!

Hey @rwedegis,

Visiting via @SteemBloggers feature of your post.

I could eat these steamed clams right now! Will have to source some and try my hand. ;) Thanks so much for sharing the recipe. Upvoted and will now FB/tweet.

Thank you so much! Enjoy!

Yummy, looks delicious! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58092.36
ETH 2469.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38