Pressure Cooker Chili

in #foodphotography7 years ago

Pressure Cooker Chili

PlateItUp.jpg

Chili is a personal thing. Recipes vary from region to region, country to country. Ingredients may include beef, pork, chicken, turkey or no meat at all. You might add beans… pinto, kidney, black or none at all. Some people like it hot and spicy, while others like it mild and bland. Chili is Spanish for pepper so I think that has to be the common ingredient, but there too, you know there’s hundreds of varieties each with their own unique flavor.

So unlike pizza, chili is not something I grew up on. My mom never made chili. I don’t think that she even had any idea what it was. I first tasted chili when I was in the Navy. One of the cooks on our submarine was of Mexican descent, and he made some awesome chili at least I thought so. Anyway that was my introduction to chili and what my taste buds consider it to be.

Over the years, I’ve tweaked and fine-tuned my recipe to this one. I’m sure that it is nothing like the one that I had in the Navy, but it has the same basics… meat, peppers, onions, tomatoes, and beans. I use pork because I prefer the taste. Also I prefer using it cubed rather than ground, again for taste. Using the pressure cooker cuts cooking time down to over half and the meat always comes out tasty and tender. This chili is spicy but mild. Sheila (@swedegis) won’t eat hot, so I’ll add the heat to my bowl at serving time!

Ingredients.jpg

Ingredients

2 lbs. boneless pork cubed
1 12 oz. bottle or can of beer
2 tbsp. olive oil
2 bell peppers
1 large onion
1 jalapeno pepper
2 tbsp. chili powder
1 tbsp. ground cumin
1 tsp. paprika
1 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa power
1 tsp. garlic powder
Salt and pepper to taste
1 48 oz. can of diced tomatoes
1 40 oz. can of beans (pinto, black, or kidney)

Directions

PeppersAndOnions.jpg
Remove the core and seeds from the peppers. Slice the bell peppers into strips and dice the jalapeno. Coarsely dice the onion.

Heat up the olive oil on medium high. Add the peppers and onions to the pot and cook for 3 - 4 minutes.

PeppersAndOnionsSauted.jpg
Transfer the peppers and onions to a bowl and set aside.

AddMeat.jpg
Add the meat to the pot and cook on high until brown. Stir occasionally.

BrownMeat.jpg
When the meat has browned drain off any excess liquid.

AddBeerAndSpices.jpg
Add the beer and spices and continue heating. This is also a good time for the cook to enjoy a beer. Bring the beer up to a slow boil. Cover and lock the pot

TitsUp.jpg
When the tit on the pressure cooker pops up, the pressure is right and the cover is locked. Reduce the heat to low. You want it to be just enough to maintain pressure. If its too low the tit will go down; just raise it a little bit. If it's too high the steam will start relieving from the cooker; just lower it a bit more. You get the idea!

Timer.jpg
Set the timer to 50 minutes. If you're not using a pressure cooker, bring the pot down to a simmer for about 2 hours or until the meat is tender.

TitsDown.jpg
After 50 minutes let the cooker cool down until the tit goes down. Unlock and remove the cover.

AddVeggies.jpg
Stir the peppers, onions and tomatoes back into the pot. Raise the heat back up to medium high. Cover and lock the cooker. When the tit pops up, reduce the heat to low and let cook for another 10 minutes. After 10 minutes let the cooker cool down until the tit goes down. Unlock and remove the cover.

AddBeans.jpg
Adjust the spices. Add the beans and bring it all back up to a simmer.

PlateItUp.jpg
Serve it up. Add your favorite topping such as shredded cheese, sour cream, oyster crackers or cooked rice.

This recipe is pretty flexible. Use beef if you like, experiment with the peppers, and more, less or no beans. For me the beer and cocoa powder are essential, anything else is fair game!

Enjoy!

All photos and text in my posts are my original work.
@originalworks

Please visit my galleries on the following sites:
Society6
Fine Art America

Enjoy!

Roger



Appreciator Footer.png
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

I'm with @papacrusher - I've never thought about getting a pressure cooker before, but this just might tempt me! Looks wicked delish, Roger - maybe we should have a chili cook-off when you and Sheila arrive "down the street" - LOL!

And congrats on the appreciator vote! 😊

A chili cook off sounds like fun! The pressure cooker really works for us! I love it! Most of our meals are one pot meals. We have a LP gas range that we don't use. We have an induction cooktop that we use for most everything.

I love using our cast iron dutch oven for "one pot" meals (although I inevitably end up using a second pot to make pasta or rice). Funny how I didn't think I could live without my crockpot (we actually sent it to Goodwill when we moved into the camper). Now I don't even miss it.

No crock pot for me either. I can't plan that far ahead. I never know in the morning what I might want for dinner that night!

LOL! Exactly. 😊

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with #steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work

Thank you so much!

Man, I think I need to buy a pressure cooker even if just for this recipe! It has always amazed me throughout my travels the variations in the foods we consider staples. Your chili may not be my chili, but we both love chili. I think this could be a great allegory about life, no?

I hear you my friend! That's what makes life interesting and worth living! I love the pressure cooker. You can't beat it for things like stews and pot roasts. It also does a from scratch chicken stock in no time!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.25
Server time: 23:07:58
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1367.30/1600.00
Total Photos: 109
Total comments: 81
Total contest wins: 13
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hello@rwedegis**,

You have received up-vote from @steempeninsula account courtesy of @bob-elr and team.
Keep writing good post.

Follow @steempeninsula trail on steemauto.com

Support our project to help us grow our account and help more people.

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

We make chili frequently...with ground turkey, you can make it really low-fat and low-calorie. We use a variety of beans as well. There's also an addition we stumbled onto a few years ago: adding zucchini to bulk up the veggie content.

That's whats cool about chili! There's so many variations for whatever suits your tastes. Thank you for your comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62020.79
ETH 2420.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64