MEW MEW'S FAMOUS ASIAN SLAW

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

cover working file.jpg

This is my recipe for my favourite Asian Coleslaw. When @morkrock and I had a restaurant a few years ago, we had so much fun coming up with recipes. This slaw was my invention to go alongside burgers and sandwiches, and in our trio of sides, which consisted of skinny fries with American mayonnaise, my special green salad, and this slaw.


I was inspired by my favourite style of cooking, which, if you haven't guessed is Asian. Nutty Sesame Seed oil, crunchy peanuts, spicy curry powder and creamy vegan mayo. YUUMM!

WhatsApp Image 2018-04-16 at 20.35.22 (1).jpeg

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 and a half cups vegan mayo
  • 4 large carrots, peeled and grated
  • 1/4 red cabbage, sliced finely
  • 1 cup peanuts, roughly crushed
  • small handful coriander/cilantro, chopped finely
  • 2 tablespoons tandoori masala curry powder
  • 2 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon sesame seed oil
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon Demerara brown sugar

WhatsApp Image 2018-04-16 at 20.35.22 (3).jpeg

METHOD

Toss the chopped vegetables, coriander, sugar and peanuts in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, mix together the mayo with the spices, sesame seed oil, cinnamon, curry powder and soy sauce. This is one of those recipes which you can adapt to your own taste, so sample the mayo to make sure it is to your liking. Once you are happy, mix with the veggies, garnish with a few extra peanuts and coriander, and chill a few minutes in the fridge.

WhatsApp Image 2018-04-16 at 20.35.22.jpeg

I love to serve this salad at a barbeque or alongside a spicy chicken dish. I make it so often that whenever we braai (this is the South African term for barbecuing) I am told by my friends that I can't come if I don't bring the SLAW!

WhatsApp Image 2018-04-16 at 20.35.57 (4).jpeg

Hope you enjoyed my recipe, Steem Fam. Let me know if you make it please xxx

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort:  

Looks beautiful, healthy and delicious! I like the addition of the curry powder and the cinnamon sounds interesting. Lots of flavor and texture.

Thank you! I think it is tasty but not sure about healthy. Here vegan mayo is made with canola oil which is better for your heart, but probably not that healthy either. 🤷🏼‍♀️ Oh well... tastes good! 😂

Looking good but why it have more peanut. curious for the taste :D

it adds a great texture to the salad!

I had no idea that you and Mork owned a restaurant. I sent over half my life working in restaurants, from serving, bartending and managing I’ve done it all, even some time in the kitchen. Restaurant work is so fast paced and busy but fun. This slaw looks delicious. I know my partner will love it. She is a big fan of these types of dishes.

Yes we did! It was so fun and such hard work, and we nearly killed each other eighty-nine times. 😹😹

It is crazy, fun, tiring and rewarding all at the same time.

Let me know if wifey likes the recipe!

Now where in the world will I find all these ingredients in this part of the world mum?

ahhh, shames!

When I am lazy, or can't find everything, I make sure to have carrots, cabbage, mayonnaise, coriander (even dried) and some sort of curry powder. Even a mix of cinnamon, cumin and chilli works. The rest of the ingredients just elevate the flavour from good to great!

Another Amazing looking dish and thanks for the recipe. Always love the food you share @princessmewmew. WoW!!!

thanks bud. I appreciate your amazing support

Mouth watering recipe. Interesting dish

why thank you sir!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 21:56:38
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 49.35/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 19
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Now you've piqued my appetite. I think I should try out the recipe you gave. :)

Yes please do! I will love to see your result x

Not only very colorful but such an interesting list of ingredients it must be so tasty

Oh it is! I normally make a huge batch and have it for lunch for a week or so ☺️

I may well do just that

😎👍😎

Honestly, this is a recipe I will try doing for sure. Like the assian style of it. Its super fancy, if you ask me! I bet it tastes super yummy! :x

Super fancy... Just like me! xx

It is yummy :) I make it very often

haha! Yeah, I read that you're doing it very often! Maybe I can do it for my friends, at our next berbeque!! :d but until the, I'll try doing it for me asap! :x

awesome! let me know if you like it as much as I do 😝

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36