Fruits of Mexico: rambutan, fragrant delicacy also known as “messy hair”

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

I am very sorry to disappoint all those who were expecting another Monday iguana shot today but I decided to go for the food photo contest this time. For some reason, I am really terrible at photographing meals so the only reasonable way for me to compete in this category is to submit some fruit shots and my today´s choice is the rambutan!
(we bought these rambutans from a street vendor while going to the beach, hence the sea/sandy set-up)

IMG_20170801_161009.jpg
Click on the image for full view

A medium-sized tropical tree, the rambutan was once native only to Malaysia and Indonesia but these days, it is grown in most tropical regions all over the world, including Mexico.

IMG_20170801_160656.jpg
Click on the image for full view

The name “rambutan” has its origin in the Malay-Indonesian language, meaning “hairy fruit” but there are several other names for this fruit, including the one that translates as “messy hair”.

IMG_20170801_153623.jpg
Click on the image for full view

The rambutan is definitely one of the most bizarrely-looking fruits but don’t let the hairy exterior fool you. Once the hairy skin is peeled, you will get to the white, juicy and incredibly delicious flesh. It can be very difficult to describe the taste of some exotic fruits and the rambutan is one of them. It is somewhat similar to the lychee (both in consistency and taste), if it helps :)


Czech: Tak toto je rambutan, přátelé. Ovoce podivného vzezření ale o to lahodnější chuti. V ČR jsem ho ještě nikdy neviděl, ale párkrát už jsem (tuším, že to bylo v Kauflandu) narazil na liči, které je rambutanu chuťově dosti podobné. Myslím, že kromě místních gastro fandů by tento příspěvěk o "hairy fruit" mohl zajímat také @hairyfairy :D

This is also my entry for today´s #foodphotography contest organized by @juliank and @photocontests.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

I had one in Hawaii and loved it. It had the texture of a kiwi but without little seeds. I agree that the taste is hard to describe.

Aww, would love to go to Hawaii...

Než jsem si přečetl pár českých řádků na konci, tak jsem se divil, že to LIČI je nějaké červené ;-). S tím mořem dohromady to vypadá jako obětina na usmíření Poseidona aby neposílal do zálivu hurikán ;-)

Ty máš teda fantazii :D Ale jo, pokud to měla být oběť, tak svůj účel splnila - letos (teda loni) naši oblast žádný ničivý hurikán nepostihl :)

No vidíš to ;-)

I love rambutan😍. This is a tree at my mothers house in Suriname. I cant wait to eat these.
IMG-20180129-WA0002.jpg

Nice! I havent see the tree yet, only the harvested fruit :)) Looks cool, thanks for sharing :))

You made my sons day. He loves a similar fruit from a south Farica called a Lichi. Now we can’t wait to get down to Mexico!!!

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

Haha, thanks for the comment :) I think I wrote about the fruit in the final paragraph, just another spelling I think (lychee). I would say rambutan is even tastier than lichi (or lychee) so another reason for you to be excited about the move! :)

Good to know! Exciting! By the way...I wrote you a message in Steemitchat!! Take a look!

Yeah, I saw it :) Will reply later today ;)

hedgehog fruit!

Beautiful photos! I had no idea these fruits existed. I am glad you provided the larger image so I could examine the fruit closer, the colours are so amazing, this looks more like a sea creature than a fruit. Very cool!

Thank you for this nice comment :) Glad someone noticed the possibility to enlarge the image! And yeah, you are right, it does resemble a deep sea creature :)

I know that fruit is just so crazy but its delicious and i love seeing those mountains of Rambutan on the streets saling them for so cheap, everytime i see them i have to stop buy.

yeah, same here :) they seem to a bit seasonal here in Mexico though... havent seem them in a while

Nope, it is rambutan :) it is related to lychee though ;)

What a strange fruit, very good your photography

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30